reptides / Gonadorelin

Gonadorelin

Gonadorelin can restore reproductive signaling when a pump supplies repeated physiologic pulses to people with defined hypothalamic GnRH deficiency. A diagnostic bolus and occasional clinic injections are different interventions, and the pump studies do not establish gonadorelin as an HCG substitute during testosterone therapy.

synthetic native-sequence gonadotropin-releasing hormone

  • Native human GnRH sequence with ten amino acids
  • Plasma half-life is about four minutes after injection
  • Historical US human Factrel and Lutrepulse products are discontinued
  • The current US Factrel label is for cattle only
  • Ovulation, pregnancy, spermatogenesis, and live birth are separate outcomes
Identity Pulse or bolus Women Men TRT claim Safety Product status Key studies

What exactly is gonadorelin?

Gonadorelin is synthetic native-sequence human GnRH, a ten-amino-acid hypothalamic hormone. It signals pituitary gonadotrophs to release LH and FSH and is hydrolyzed rapidly, with a labeled plasma half-life of about four minutes.

The free base, hydrochloride, and acetate name the active peptide or product salt. A salt name does not make a bolus, pump, and intermittent injection clinically equivalent.

UK SmPC · bolus test and four-minute half-life

Regulated product information

Electronic Medicines Compendium. Gonadorelin 100 micrograms SmPC, revised 30 August 2022.

The product is a single subcutaneous or intravenous bolus used to test pituitary gonadotroph response. The label says that this test does not determine the cause of a subnormal response or measure reserve, and reports rapid plasma hydrolysis with a half-life of about four minutes.

  • Pregnancy and hypersensitivity are contraindications.
  • The label warns about premature ovulation, pituitary apoplexy in patients with pituitary adenoma, and effects of drugs that alter pituitary gonadotropin secretion.
Participants / model
People undergoing assessment of anterior-pituitary gonadotroph function
Treatment
Single 100 microgram subcutaneous or intravenous bolus
Study design
Current regulated product information for a diagnostic use
Read the original source
DailyMed · cattle only, not for human use

FDA animal-drug label

DailyMed. FACTREL gonadorelin injection, NADA 139-237, label updated 18 August 2026.

The current Factrel product is a prescription animal drug containing 50 micrograms per mL gonadorelin for intramuscular use in cattle. Its label explicitly says cattle only and not for human use.

Participants / model
Cattle
Treatment
Veterinary intramuscular gonadorelin under NADA 139-237
Study design
Current animal-drug label

The shared brand name does not make this a human product.

Read the original source

Why does the delivery pattern matter?

A single bolus briefly tests whether the pituitary can release LH. The fertility studies used a pump that repeated short pulses around the clock. Those interventions answer different questions even when the active peptide is gonadorelin.

Same peptide, different clinical question
DeliveryStudied purposeWhat the evidence answers
Single bolusPituitary stimulation testShort-term LH response
Repeating pump pulsesDefined hypothalamic GnRH deficiencyOvulation or spermatogenesis under a pump protocol
Occasional clinic injectionClaimed TRT supportNot established in a controlled fertility-preservation study
UK SmPC · bolus test and four-minute half-life

Regulated product information

Electronic Medicines Compendium. Gonadorelin 100 micrograms SmPC, revised 30 August 2022.

The product is a single subcutaneous or intravenous bolus used to test pituitary gonadotroph response. The label says that this test does not determine the cause of a subnormal response or measure reserve, and reports rapid plasma hydrolysis with a half-life of about four minutes.

  • Pregnancy and hypersensitivity are contraindications.
  • The label warns about premature ovulation, pituitary apoplexy in patients with pituitary adenoma, and effects of drugs that alter pituitary gonadotropin secretion.
Participants / model
People undergoing assessment of anterior-pituitary gonadotroph function
Treatment
Single 100 microgram subcutaneous or intravenous bolus
Study design
Current regulated product information for a diagnostic use
Read the original source
109 women · ovulation, not a live-birth report

Multicenter clinical trial

Santoro N. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1990.

Among 109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea, intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin produced ovulation in 91% and 96% of the two groups. The abstract reports a mean 7% rate of intravenous-line complications, 12% multiple pregnancy, and one ovarian-hyperstimulation case in a woman also given clomiphene. It does not give subgroup denominators, total pregnancy count, or live births.

Participants / model
109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea
Treatment
Intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin acetate through the Lutrepulse system
Follow-up
Through ovulation induction; follow-up duration not stated in the abstract
Study design
Multicenter clinical trial; randomization and comparator allocation are not described in the abstract

The large percentages are ovulation endpoints. Pregnancy and live birth cannot be inferred from them.

Read the original source
28 men · earlier sperm, similar observed rates

Nonrandomized comparative study

Zhang L et al. American Journal of Men’s Health, 2019.

Ten azoospermic men received a pulsatile gonadorelin pump and 18 received cyclical HCG/HMG for up to 24 months. Median time to sperm was 6 versus 14 months. Sperm appeared in 90% versus 83.3%, a difference that was not statistically significant. Pump users commonly had allergic erythema or induration.

Participants / model
28 azoospermic men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin pump or cyclical HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Up to 24 months
Study design
Nonrandomized comparative study

The small, unrandomized groups do not prove that the pump gives a higher eventual spermatogenesis rate.

Read the original source

What did pulsatile gonadorelin show in women?

The 109-woman multicenter study reported ovulation in 91% of primary and 96% of secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea cases. Those are ovulation rates, not pregnancy or live-birth rates. A separate Chinese series reported two natural pregnancies among five women, but its size and uncontrolled design do not supply a dependable pregnancy estimate.

Keep the outcome funnel intact

Hormone release can precede follicle development, ovulation, pregnancy, and live birth. Success at one step does not establish the next. The 109-woman abstract does not report total pregnancies or live births.

109 women · ovulation, not a live-birth report

Multicenter clinical trial

Santoro N. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1990.

Among 109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea, intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin produced ovulation in 91% and 96% of the two groups. The abstract reports a mean 7% rate of intravenous-line complications, 12% multiple pregnancy, and one ovarian-hyperstimulation case in a woman also given clomiphene. It does not give subgroup denominators, total pregnancy count, or live births.

Participants / model
109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea
Treatment
Intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin acetate through the Lutrepulse system
Follow-up
Through ovulation induction; follow-up duration not stated in the abstract
Study design
Multicenter clinical trial; randomization and comparator allocation are not described in the abstract

The large percentages are ovulation endpoints. Pregnancy and live birth cannot be inferred from them.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 5 women, 2 pregnancies

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Liu Z et al. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2015.

Five women with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism received pump pulses for at least 12 weeks. Four had menstrual bleeding after 35 to 55 days and two natural pregnancies were reported. With five uncontrolled patients, this adds a downstream pregnancy observation but cannot estimate a dependable pregnancy or live-birth rate.

Participants / model
5 women with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin by pump, 10 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
At least 12 weeks
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

The abstract reports no live-birth outcome.

Read the original source

What did pump therapy show in men with GnRH deficiency?

In Chinese clinical cohorts with congenital or idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, pump therapy was followed by sperm production and sometimes fertility. Comparative studies found earlier sperm appearance with a pump, while the smaller 28-man comparison did not show a significant difference in the proportion who produced sperm.

Human male evidence by design
StudyPump groupKey resultLimit
Huang 201540 of 92 men20/40 produced sperm; mean 6.5 months to first spermRetrospective, self-selected therapy
Zhang 201910 of 28 menMedian 6 months; 90% produced spermNonrandomized; rate difference not significant
Niu 202445 men33 produced sperm; 8 natural fertility; 3 births via assisted reproductionUncontrolled case series
Chinese retrospective study · 40 versus 52 men

Retrospective comparative study in Chinese

Huang B et al. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2015.

Ninety-two men self-selected treatment: 40 received pulsatile GnRH and 52 received HCG/HMG. Sperm appeared in 20 of 40 versus 15 of 52, and mean time to first sperm was 6.5 versus 10.8 months. The voluntary treatment choice, retrospective design, and unequal follow-up leave confounding.

Participants / model
92 male outpatients with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile GnRH infusion or HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Median follow-up 8.2 versus 9.2 months
Study design
Retrospective nonrandomized comparison; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Treatment was self-selected, so the between-group difference is not a randomized effect estimate.

Read the original source
28 men · earlier sperm, similar observed rates

Nonrandomized comparative study

Zhang L et al. American Journal of Men’s Health, 2019.

Ten azoospermic men received a pulsatile gonadorelin pump and 18 received cyclical HCG/HMG for up to 24 months. Median time to sperm was 6 versus 14 months. Sperm appeared in 90% versus 83.3%, a difference that was not statistically significant. Pump users commonly had allergic erythema or induration.

Participants / model
28 azoospermic men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin pump or cyclical HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Up to 24 months
Study design
Nonrandomized comparative study

The small, unrandomized groups do not prove that the pump gives a higher eventual spermatogenesis rate.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 45 men, fertility and adverse events

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Niu YH et al. Zhonghua Nan Ke Xue, 2024.

In 45 men treated with pump pulses for a mean 19.1 months, sperm was observed in 33, eight achieved natural fertility, and three achieved childbirth through assisted reproduction. Gynecomastia occurred in eight, subcutaneous induration in six, and allergic reaction in three. There was no untreated or active comparator.

Participants / model
45 men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Gonadorelin pump, 7 to 15 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
Mean 19.1 months
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Observed outcomes in a selected endocrine disorder do not establish results for men whose GnRH axis is being suppressed by exogenous testosterone.

Read the original source

Does an occasional gonadorelin injection replace HCG during TRT?

The cited human evidence does not support that substitution. HCG stimulates the testicular LH receptor directly, while gonadorelin depends on an intact, responsive pituitary and repeated timing. Positive pump results in GnRH-deficient patients do not validate sporadic injections during exogenous testosterone use.

Gonadorelin with TRT · fertility evidence

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov records

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov records for gonadorelin with testosterone therapy or fertility support.

The cited records include one Chinese CHH follow-up cohort in which participants selected among pump, gonadotropin, or testosterone treatments. It did not test intermittent gonadorelin added to TRT, and the cited registry records include no controlled trial of occasional clinic injections as an HCG substitute.

Read the original source
UK SmPC · bolus test and four-minute half-life

Regulated product information

Electronic Medicines Compendium. Gonadorelin 100 micrograms SmPC, revised 30 August 2022.

The product is a single subcutaneous or intravenous bolus used to test pituitary gonadotroph response. The label says that this test does not determine the cause of a subnormal response or measure reserve, and reports rapid plasma hydrolysis with a half-life of about four minutes.

  • Pregnancy and hypersensitivity are contraindications.
  • The label warns about premature ovulation, pituitary apoplexy in patients with pituitary adenoma, and effects of drugs that alter pituitary gonadotropin secretion.
Participants / model
People undergoing assessment of anterior-pituitary gonadotroph function
Treatment
Single 100 microgram subcutaneous or intravenous bolus
Study design
Current regulated product information for a diagnostic use
Read the original source
28 men · earlier sperm, similar observed rates

Nonrandomized comparative study

Zhang L et al. American Journal of Men’s Health, 2019.

Ten azoospermic men received a pulsatile gonadorelin pump and 18 received cyclical HCG/HMG for up to 24 months. Median time to sperm was 6 versus 14 months. Sperm appeared in 90% versus 83.3%, a difference that was not statistically significant. Pump users commonly had allergic erythema or induration.

Participants / model
28 azoospermic men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin pump or cyclical HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Up to 24 months
Study design
Nonrandomized comparative study

The small, unrandomized groups do not prove that the pump gives a higher eventual spermatogenesis rate.

Read the original source

What are the relevant safety limits?

Risks depend on the use. The diagnostic label lists hypersensitivity, premature ovulation, pituitary-apoplexy concern in pituitary adenoma, drug interactions that alter gonadotropin response, and rare or frequency-unknown adverse reactions. Pump studies add line complications, injection-site allergy or induration, multiple pregnancy, and an ovarian-hyperstimulation case confounded by clomiphene.

Short diagnostic exposure does not establish the safety of months of pump therapy. Neither diagnostic-bolus nor pump studies establish long-term safety for intermittent clinic formulations of uncertain provenance.

UK SmPC · bolus test and four-minute half-life

Regulated product information

Electronic Medicines Compendium. Gonadorelin 100 micrograms SmPC, revised 30 August 2022.

The product is a single subcutaneous or intravenous bolus used to test pituitary gonadotroph response. The label says that this test does not determine the cause of a subnormal response or measure reserve, and reports rapid plasma hydrolysis with a half-life of about four minutes.

  • Pregnancy and hypersensitivity are contraindications.
  • The label warns about premature ovulation, pituitary apoplexy in patients with pituitary adenoma, and effects of drugs that alter pituitary gonadotropin secretion.
Participants / model
People undergoing assessment of anterior-pituitary gonadotroph function
Treatment
Single 100 microgram subcutaneous or intravenous bolus
Study design
Current regulated product information for a diagnostic use
Read the original source
109 women · ovulation, not a live-birth report

Multicenter clinical trial

Santoro N. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1990.

Among 109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea, intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin produced ovulation in 91% and 96% of the two groups. The abstract reports a mean 7% rate of intravenous-line complications, 12% multiple pregnancy, and one ovarian-hyperstimulation case in a woman also given clomiphene. It does not give subgroup denominators, total pregnancy count, or live births.

Participants / model
109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea
Treatment
Intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin acetate through the Lutrepulse system
Follow-up
Through ovulation induction; follow-up duration not stated in the abstract
Study design
Multicenter clinical trial; randomization and comparator allocation are not described in the abstract

The large percentages are ovulation endpoints. Pregnancy and live birth cannot be inferred from them.

Read the original source
28 men · earlier sperm, similar observed rates

Nonrandomized comparative study

Zhang L et al. American Journal of Men’s Health, 2019.

Ten azoospermic men received a pulsatile gonadorelin pump and 18 received cyclical HCG/HMG for up to 24 months. Median time to sperm was 6 versus 14 months. Sperm appeared in 90% versus 83.3%, a difference that was not statistically significant. Pump users commonly had allergic erythema or induration.

Participants / model
28 azoospermic men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin pump or cyclical HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Up to 24 months
Study design
Nonrandomized comparative study

The small, unrandomized groups do not prove that the pump gives a higher eventual spermatogenesis rate.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 45 men, fertility and adverse events

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Niu YH et al. Zhonghua Nan Ke Xue, 2024.

In 45 men treated with pump pulses for a mean 19.1 months, sperm was observed in 33, eight achieved natural fertility, and three achieved childbirth through assisted reproduction. Gynecomastia occurred in eight, subcutaneous induration in six, and allergic reaction in three. There was no untreated or active comparator.

Participants / model
45 men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Gonadorelin pump, 7 to 15 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
Mean 19.1 months
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Observed outcomes in a selected endocrine disorder do not establish results for men whose GnRH axis is being suppressed by exogenous testosterone.

Read the original source

Which Factrel and Lutrepulse products are human products?

US human Factrel and Lutrepulse applications are historical, and all listed strengths are discontinued. Current US Factrel is an FDA-labeled intramuscular cattle product. In Canada, Lutrepulse 0.8 mg is cancelled post-market and 3.2 mg is dormant.

Factrel products differ by market and species

The current veterinary Factrel label says cattle only and not for human use. It cannot be treated as the discontinued human diagnostic product.

Drugs@FDA · all human Factrel strengths discontinued

FDA application record

US Food and Drug Administration. FACTREL, NDA 018123.

The application record identifies gonadorelin hydrochloride injectable Factrel as a human new drug approved in 1982. All three listed strengths have a marketing status of Discontinued.

Study design
FDA application and product-status record
Read the original source
Drugs@FDA · both pump-kit strengths discontinued

FDA application record

US Food and Drug Administration. LUTREPULSE KIT, NDA 019687.

The application record identifies gonadorelin acetate Lutrepulse kits at 0.8 mg and 3.2 mg. Both products have a marketing status of Discontinued.

Study design
FDA application and product-status record
Read the original source
DailyMed · cattle only, not for human use

FDA animal-drug label

DailyMed. FACTREL gonadorelin injection, NADA 139-237, label updated 18 August 2026.

The current Factrel product is a prescription animal drug containing 50 micrograms per mL gonadorelin for intramuscular use in cattle. Its label explicitly says cattle only and not for human use.

Participants / model
Cattle
Treatment
Veterinary intramuscular gonadorelin under NADA 139-237
Study design
Current animal-drug label

The shared brand name does not make this a human product.

Read the original source
Health Canada · 0.8 mg cancelled, 3.2 mg dormant

Health Canada product-status database

Health Canada Drug Product Database, drug codes 16274 and 16273.

The 0.8 mg gonadorelin acetate product, code 16274, is Cancelled Post Market as of 24 December 2024. The 3.2 mg product is drug code 16273 and remains Dormant.

Study design
Federal drug product and status database
Read the original source

Which studies define the diagnostic and pump-therapy results?

Regulated records cover diagnostic use, while historical and current pump studies concern pulsatile treatment of GnRH deficiency. Chinese clinical reports and the cited TRT evidence do not establish intermittent gonadorelin as a substitute for HCG during testosterone use.

UK SmPC · bolus test and four-minute half-life

Regulated product information

Electronic Medicines Compendium. Gonadorelin 100 micrograms SmPC, revised 30 August 2022.

The product is a single subcutaneous or intravenous bolus used to test pituitary gonadotroph response. The label says that this test does not determine the cause of a subnormal response or measure reserve, and reports rapid plasma hydrolysis with a half-life of about four minutes.

  • Pregnancy and hypersensitivity are contraindications.
  • The label warns about premature ovulation, pituitary apoplexy in patients with pituitary adenoma, and effects of drugs that alter pituitary gonadotropin secretion.
Participants / model
People undergoing assessment of anterior-pituitary gonadotroph function
Treatment
Single 100 microgram subcutaneous or intravenous bolus
Study design
Current regulated product information for a diagnostic use
Read the original source
Drugs@FDA · all human Factrel strengths discontinued

FDA application record

US Food and Drug Administration. FACTREL, NDA 018123.

The application record identifies gonadorelin hydrochloride injectable Factrel as a human new drug approved in 1982. All three listed strengths have a marketing status of Discontinued.

Study design
FDA application and product-status record
Read the original source
Drugs@FDA · both pump-kit strengths discontinued

FDA application record

US Food and Drug Administration. LUTREPULSE KIT, NDA 019687.

The application record identifies gonadorelin acetate Lutrepulse kits at 0.8 mg and 3.2 mg. Both products have a marketing status of Discontinued.

Study design
FDA application and product-status record
Read the original source
DailyMed · cattle only, not for human use

FDA animal-drug label

DailyMed. FACTREL gonadorelin injection, NADA 139-237, label updated 18 August 2026.

The current Factrel product is a prescription animal drug containing 50 micrograms per mL gonadorelin for intramuscular use in cattle. Its label explicitly says cattle only and not for human use.

Participants / model
Cattle
Treatment
Veterinary intramuscular gonadorelin under NADA 139-237
Study design
Current animal-drug label

The shared brand name does not make this a human product.

Read the original source
Health Canada · 0.8 mg cancelled, 3.2 mg dormant

Health Canada product-status database

Health Canada Drug Product Database, drug codes 16274 and 16273.

The 0.8 mg gonadorelin acetate product, code 16274, is Cancelled Post Market as of 24 December 2024. The 3.2 mg product is drug code 16273 and remains Dormant.

Study design
Federal drug product and status database
Read the original source
109 women · ovulation, not a live-birth report

Multicenter clinical trial

Santoro N. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1990.

Among 109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea, intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin produced ovulation in 91% and 96% of the two groups. The abstract reports a mean 7% rate of intravenous-line complications, 12% multiple pregnancy, and one ovarian-hyperstimulation case in a woman also given clomiphene. It does not give subgroup denominators, total pregnancy count, or live births.

Participants / model
109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea
Treatment
Intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin acetate through the Lutrepulse system
Follow-up
Through ovulation induction; follow-up duration not stated in the abstract
Study design
Multicenter clinical trial; randomization and comparator allocation are not described in the abstract

The large percentages are ovulation endpoints. Pregnancy and live birth cannot be inferred from them.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 5 women, 2 pregnancies

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Liu Z et al. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2015.

Five women with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism received pump pulses for at least 12 weeks. Four had menstrual bleeding after 35 to 55 days and two natural pregnancies were reported. With five uncontrolled patients, this adds a downstream pregnancy observation but cannot estimate a dependable pregnancy or live-birth rate.

Participants / model
5 women with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin by pump, 10 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
At least 12 weeks
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

The abstract reports no live-birth outcome.

Read the original source
Chinese retrospective study · 40 versus 52 men

Retrospective comparative study in Chinese

Huang B et al. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2015.

Ninety-two men self-selected treatment: 40 received pulsatile GnRH and 52 received HCG/HMG. Sperm appeared in 20 of 40 versus 15 of 52, and mean time to first sperm was 6.5 versus 10.8 months. The voluntary treatment choice, retrospective design, and unequal follow-up leave confounding.

Participants / model
92 male outpatients with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile GnRH infusion or HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Median follow-up 8.2 versus 9.2 months
Study design
Retrospective nonrandomized comparison; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Treatment was self-selected, so the between-group difference is not a randomized effect estimate.

Read the original source
28 men · earlier sperm, similar observed rates

Nonrandomized comparative study

Zhang L et al. American Journal of Men’s Health, 2019.

Ten azoospermic men received a pulsatile gonadorelin pump and 18 received cyclical HCG/HMG for up to 24 months. Median time to sperm was 6 versus 14 months. Sperm appeared in 90% versus 83.3%, a difference that was not statistically significant. Pump users commonly had allergic erythema or induration.

Participants / model
28 azoospermic men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin pump or cyclical HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Up to 24 months
Study design
Nonrandomized comparative study

The small, unrandomized groups do not prove that the pump gives a higher eventual spermatogenesis rate.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 45 men, fertility and adverse events

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Niu YH et al. Zhonghua Nan Ke Xue, 2024.

In 45 men treated with pump pulses for a mean 19.1 months, sperm was observed in 33, eight achieved natural fertility, and three achieved childbirth through assisted reproduction. Gynecomastia occurred in eight, subcutaneous induration in six, and allergic reaction in three. There was no untreated or active comparator.

Participants / model
45 men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Gonadorelin pump, 7 to 15 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
Mean 19.1 months
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Observed outcomes in a selected endocrine disorder do not establish results for men whose GnRH axis is being suppressed by exogenous testosterone.

Read the original source
Gonadorelin with TRT · fertility evidence

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov records

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov records for gonadorelin with testosterone therapy or fertility support.

The cited records include one Chinese CHH follow-up cohort in which participants selected among pump, gonadotropin, or testosterone treatments. It did not test intermittent gonadorelin added to TRT, and the cited registry records include no controlled trial of occasional clinic injections as an HCG substitute.

Read the original source

Studies and sources

UK SmPC · bolus test and four-minute half-life

Regulated product information

Electronic Medicines Compendium. Gonadorelin 100 micrograms SmPC, revised 30 August 2022.

The product is a single subcutaneous or intravenous bolus used to test pituitary gonadotroph response. The label says that this test does not determine the cause of a subnormal response or measure reserve, and reports rapid plasma hydrolysis with a half-life of about four minutes.

  • Pregnancy and hypersensitivity are contraindications.
  • The label warns about premature ovulation, pituitary apoplexy in patients with pituitary adenoma, and effects of drugs that alter pituitary gonadotropin secretion.
Participants / model
People undergoing assessment of anterior-pituitary gonadotroph function
Treatment
Single 100 microgram subcutaneous or intravenous bolus
Study design
Current regulated product information for a diagnostic use
Read the original source
Drugs@FDA · all human Factrel strengths discontinued

FDA application record

US Food and Drug Administration. FACTREL, NDA 018123.

The application record identifies gonadorelin hydrochloride injectable Factrel as a human new drug approved in 1982. All three listed strengths have a marketing status of Discontinued.

Study design
FDA application and product-status record
Read the original source
Drugs@FDA · both pump-kit strengths discontinued

FDA application record

US Food and Drug Administration. LUTREPULSE KIT, NDA 019687.

The application record identifies gonadorelin acetate Lutrepulse kits at 0.8 mg and 3.2 mg. Both products have a marketing status of Discontinued.

Study design
FDA application and product-status record
Read the original source
DailyMed · cattle only, not for human use

FDA animal-drug label

DailyMed. FACTREL gonadorelin injection, NADA 139-237, label updated 18 August 2026.

The current Factrel product is a prescription animal drug containing 50 micrograms per mL gonadorelin for intramuscular use in cattle. Its label explicitly says cattle only and not for human use.

Participants / model
Cattle
Treatment
Veterinary intramuscular gonadorelin under NADA 139-237
Study design
Current animal-drug label

The shared brand name does not make this a human product.

Read the original source
Health Canada · 0.8 mg cancelled, 3.2 mg dormant

Health Canada product-status database

Health Canada Drug Product Database, drug codes 16274 and 16273.

The 0.8 mg gonadorelin acetate product, code 16274, is Cancelled Post Market as of 24 December 2024. The 3.2 mg product is drug code 16273 and remains Dormant.

Study design
Federal drug product and status database
Read the original source
109 women · ovulation, not a live-birth report

Multicenter clinical trial

Santoro N. American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1990.

Among 109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea, intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin produced ovulation in 91% and 96% of the two groups. The abstract reports a mean 7% rate of intravenous-line complications, 12% multiple pregnancy, and one ovarian-hyperstimulation case in a woman also given clomiphene. It does not give subgroup denominators, total pregnancy count, or live births.

Participants / model
109 women with primary or secondary hypothalamic amenorrhea
Treatment
Intravenous pulsatile gonadorelin acetate through the Lutrepulse system
Follow-up
Through ovulation induction; follow-up duration not stated in the abstract
Study design
Multicenter clinical trial; randomization and comparator allocation are not described in the abstract

The large percentages are ovulation endpoints. Pregnancy and live birth cannot be inferred from them.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 5 women, 2 pregnancies

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Liu Z et al. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2015.

Five women with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism received pump pulses for at least 12 weeks. Four had menstrual bleeding after 35 to 55 days and two natural pregnancies were reported. With five uncontrolled patients, this adds a downstream pregnancy observation but cannot estimate a dependable pregnancy or live-birth rate.

Participants / model
5 women with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin by pump, 10 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
At least 12 weeks
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

The abstract reports no live-birth outcome.

Read the original source
Chinese retrospective study · 40 versus 52 men

Retrospective comparative study in Chinese

Huang B et al. Zhonghua Yi Xue Za Zhi, 2015.

Ninety-two men self-selected treatment: 40 received pulsatile GnRH and 52 received HCG/HMG. Sperm appeared in 20 of 40 versus 15 of 52, and mean time to first sperm was 6.5 versus 10.8 months. The voluntary treatment choice, retrospective design, and unequal follow-up leave confounding.

Participants / model
92 male outpatients with idiopathic hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile GnRH infusion or HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Median follow-up 8.2 versus 9.2 months
Study design
Retrospective nonrandomized comparison; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Treatment was self-selected, so the between-group difference is not a randomized effect estimate.

Read the original source
28 men · earlier sperm, similar observed rates

Nonrandomized comparative study

Zhang L et al. American Journal of Men’s Health, 2019.

Ten azoospermic men received a pulsatile gonadorelin pump and 18 received cyclical HCG/HMG for up to 24 months. Median time to sperm was 6 versus 14 months. Sperm appeared in 90% versus 83.3%, a difference that was not statistically significant. Pump users commonly had allergic erythema or induration.

Participants / model
28 azoospermic men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Pulsatile gonadorelin pump or cyclical HCG/HMG
Follow-up
Up to 24 months
Study design
Nonrandomized comparative study

The small, unrandomized groups do not prove that the pump gives a higher eventual spermatogenesis rate.

Read the original source
Chinese series · 45 men, fertility and adverse events

Retrospective case series in Chinese

Niu YH et al. Zhonghua Nan Ke Xue, 2024.

In 45 men treated with pump pulses for a mean 19.1 months, sperm was observed in 33, eight achieved natural fertility, and three achieved childbirth through assisted reproduction. Gynecomastia occurred in eight, subcutaneous induration in six, and allergic reaction in three. There was no untreated or active comparator.

Participants / model
45 men with congenital hypogonadotropic hypogonadism
Treatment
Gonadorelin pump, 7 to 15 micrograms every 90 minutes
Follow-up
Mean 19.1 months
Study design
Retrospective uncontrolled case series; Chinese-language article with English abstract

Observed outcomes in a selected endocrine disorder do not establish results for men whose GnRH axis is being suppressed by exogenous testosterone.

Read the original source
Gonadorelin with TRT · fertility evidence

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov records

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov records for gonadorelin with testosterone therapy or fertility support.

The cited records include one Chinese CHH follow-up cohort in which participants selected among pump, gonadotropin, or testosterone treatments. It did not test intermittent gonadorelin added to TRT, and the cited registry records include no controlled trial of occasional clinic injections as an HCG substitute.

Read the original source

Why is Gonadorelin in C tier?

C reflects human efficacy for pulsatile pump therapy in selected GnRH-deficient populations. Diagnostic boluses, intermittent TRT-clinic injections, and the veterinary Factrel product use different regimens and evidence.

reptides couldn’t finish loading.

check your connection, then try again. your saved data stays put.