reptides / Semax

Semax

Small Russian post-stroke and optic-nerve studies reported clinical improvements with intranasal Semax. The studies were nonrandomized or incompletely reported and do not establish cognitive enhancement in healthy people or the safety of online products.

ACTH-derived heptapeptide

  • Synthetic heptapeptide
  • Usually studied by intranasal administration
  • Semax free base and Semax acetate are distinct bulk substances
What exactly is Semax? Is it approved in the U.S.? Is it a Russian medicine? What did the stroke studies show? What about optic-nerve disease? Does it improve healthy cognition? What does BDNF mean here? Is the safety record reassuring?

What molecule do Semax claims refer to?

Semax is the seven-amino-acid sequence Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, built from ACTH residues 4 through 7 plus Pro-Gly-Pro. FDA's 2026 review found that products sold under the common name may contain different salts or active moieties, so their doses and results are not interchangeable.

A study of one characterized intranasal product does not automatically apply to Semax acetate, free base, a different salt, or an online vial.

FDA Semax review · identity, approval, evidence

FDA compounding review

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 2026

FDA found no Semax component in an approved drug and identified identity, device, safety, immunogenicity, and effectiveness concerns.

Participants / model
Semax free base and Semax acetate proposed for U.S. compounding
Treatment
Intranasal nominated uses
Follow-up
Agency review through July 2026
Study design
Regulatory evidence review

This is a compounding-list evaluation, not a clinical trial or approval decision.

Read the original source

Is Semax FDA approved or cleared for compounding?

No Semax substance is a component of an FDA-approved drug. In July 2026, FDA staff concluded that the evidence weighed against placing Semax free base and Semax acetate on the 503A bulks list, citing poor characterization, intranasal-device questions, limited safety information, immunogenicity concern, and insufficient effectiveness evidence for the nominated uses.

A committee discussion is not itself a marketing approval or an endorsement of compounding.

FDA Semax review · identity, approval, evidence

FDA compounding review

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 2026

FDA found no Semax component in an approved drug and identified identity, device, safety, immunogenicity, and effectiveness concerns.

Participants / model
Semax free base and Semax acetate proposed for U.S. compounding
Treatment
Intranasal nominated uses
Follow-up
Agency review through July 2026
Study design
Regulatory evidence review

This is a compounding-list evaluation, not a clinical trial or approval decision.

Read the original source
PCAC · recommendation against 503A listing

FDA advisory presentation

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 24, 2026

FDA staff concluded that the balancing criteria weighed against adding Semax free base or acetate to the 503A bulks list.

Participants / model
Semax bulk substances proposed for compounding
Treatment
Proposed compounded intranasal products
Follow-up
July 2026 review
Study design
FDA advisory-committee material

The committee process does not create an FDA-approved drug.

Read the original source

Is there a currently registered Semax product in Russia?

Semax has been marketed as prescription nasal drops in Russia. A GRLS-derived register reproduction lists an active 1% product under registration ЛП-№(010596)-(РГ-RU), registered June 18, 2025.

The manufacturer-hosted Russian instructions carry the older 2011 registration. They identify 0.1% and 1% prescription nasal-drop products and specific Russian indications, but do not establish a U.S. product or the current 2025 Russian label.

What does the Russian registration say?

A GRLS-derived register reproduction lists Semax 1% nasal drops as active under registration ЛП-№(010596)-(РГ-RU), registered June 18, 2025 with an indefinite term and linked to the earlier Р N000812/01 record.

Semax Russia status · 2025 replacement record

Russian drug-registration record

Pharm-Portal. GRLS-derived record for Semax 1% nasal drops, registration ЛП-№(010596)-(РГ-RU), registered June 18, 2025.

Lists Semax 1% nasal drops as active under ЛП-№(010596)-(РГ-RU), registered June 18, 2025 with an indefinite term.

Participants / model
Russian prescription-drug registration
Treatment
Semax 1% nasal drops by INPC Peptogen
Study design
Russian medicine registration listing
Read the original source
Semax 0.1% instruction · contraindications and route

Manufacturer-hosted Russian product instruction

INPC Peptogen, registration ЛС-002553 dated December 30, 2011

The instruction defines a prescription 0.1% intranasal product, its named Russian uses, contraindications, and possible mild nasal irritation with prolonged use.

Participants / model
People covered by the named Russian 0.1% nasal-drop instruction
Treatment
Semax 0.1% prescription nasal drops
Follow-up
Label dated 2011; current status not established by this file
Study design
Russian-language product instruction hosted by the manufacturer

This older product instruction is not the current 2025 registration file and does not validate a different salt, concentration, or online product.

Read the original source

What clinical stroke evidence exists?

Small Russian studies reported improvements in some stroke-recovery scores. The studies have design weaknesses, and the 2018 study did not show a significant improvement in recovery from limb weakness.

Who was studied, and how were the groups assigned?

The 2018 Russian study enrolled 110 adults in early or late post-stroke rehabilitation and reports random allocation within each timing cohort to rehabilitation with or without Semax. It does not describe the randomization method, allocation concealment, or masking, and the late-rehabilitation subgroups differed in time since stroke at baseline.

All participants received rehabilitation. Semax was given intranasally at 6,000 micrograms a day for 10 days, repeated after a 20-day break. The Semax groups accumulated more of their eventual Barthel-index gain in the first month, 78.5% in early rehabilitation and 62.4% in late rehabilitation, versus 43.8% and 21.9% without Semax. Paresis recovery did not significantly differ between Semax and control subgroups.

A 1997 Russian full report compared 30 acute-stroke Semax recipients with 80 nonrandom controls. Day-6 neurologic-scale changes favored Semax on several measures, but by day 21 the reported acceleration was no longer statistically significant. All groups received other intensive care, and the small, nonrandom comparison used several endpoints.

2018 Russian stroke study · full report

Comparative clinical study

Gusev et al., Zhurnal Nevrologii i Psikhiatrii, 2018

Among 110 adults, Semax subgroups accumulated more Barthel-index improvement in the first month, while Semax did not significantly change paresis recovery versus rehabilitation alone.

  • Random allocation was reported, but the method and masking were not.
  • The late-rehabilitation Semax and control subgroups differed in time since stroke at baseline.
Participants / model
110 adults after ischemic stroke, 60 in early and 50 in late rehabilitation
Treatment
Standard rehabilitation with or without intranasal Semax 6,000 micrograms daily in two 10-day courses
Follow-up
Five months, with visits at baseline and months 1, 2, and 5
Study design
Russian-language full report of a randomized comparative study; allocation details and masking not reported

Barthel-index and blood-BDNF findings do not establish neural repair.

Read the original source
1997 Russian acute-stroke study · full report

Nonrandom comparative clinical study

Skvortsova et al., Nevrologicheskii Vestnik, 1997

The 30-patient Semax group showed faster early neurologic-scale improvement than 80 controls, but the reported acceleration was not significant by day 21.

Participants / model
30 adults treated with Semax during acute ischemic stroke, compared nonrandomly with 80 controls
Treatment
Intranasal Semax 12, 18, or 24 mg daily for five days plus standard intensive care versus standard care
Follow-up
21 days
Study design
Russian-language full report of a small, nonrandom, multi-endpoint comparison

All groups received other care, and the paper also discussed separate neurotrophic comparator cohorts. The result is not a modern confirmatory stroke trial.

Read the original source

Did Semax improve vision in controlled trials?

A small Russian comparison reported visual-acuity improvements, but it did not randomly assign treatment or mask the groups. It cannot establish a reliable treatment benefit for optic-nerve disease.

How were patients and affected eyes counted?

The 2000 Russian full report included 74 patients and 98 affected eyes with mixed optic-nerve disorders. Treatment route determined the groups rather than random assignment: 25 patients received nasal drops, 29 received endonasal electrophoresis, and 20 received background therapy without Semax.

Positive visual-acuity change was reported in 83.9% of eyes with nasal drops, 92.1% with electrophoresis, and 68.9% in control. The active-versus-control comparison was only reported at P<0.1, both eyes from one person could enter the analysis, diagnoses and background care varied, and there was no masking.

2000 Russian optic study · full report

Nonrandom comparative clinical study

Polunin et al., Vestnik Oftalmologii, 2000

Positive visual-acuity change was reported in 83.9% of nasal-drop eyes, 92.1% of electrophoresis eyes, and 68.9% of control eyes.

Participants / model
74 patients, 98 eyes, with mixed vascular, inflammatory, toxic-allergic, or atrophic optic-nerve disease
Treatment
Semax nasal drops or endonasal electrophoresis plus background treatment versus background treatment alone
Follow-up
Five days to two weeks for drops; seven to ten days for electrophoresis
Study design
Russian-language full report of a nonrandom, route-defined comparison

The publication is hosted by the product manufacturer. Analyses at eye level, mixed diagnoses, concurrent therapy, no masking, and a weak between-group significance threshold limit inference.

Read the original source

Has Semax been shown to improve cognition in healthy people?

A human imaging study measured resting-state functional connectivity 5 and 20 minutes after Semax, Selank, or placebo in 52 healthy participants. It did not test durable memory, work performance, dementia prevention, or clinical benefit.

The study measured functional connectivity, not memory, attention, daily function, or clinical benefit.

Semax and Selank fMRI · scan endpoint

Human imaging study

Panikratova et al., Doklady Biological Sciences, 2020

The 52-person study found short-term between-group differences in resting-state connectivity after Semax, Selank, or placebo.

Participants / model
Healthy participants
Treatment
Semax, Selank, or placebo before serial resting-state fMRI
Follow-up
20 minutes after administration
Study design
Placebo-comparison imaging study

Connectivity changes are not cognitive-performance or clinical outcomes.

Read the original source

Does Semax raise human BDNF within 30 minutes for more than a day?

No human study has demonstrated a rapid, lasting rise in brain BDNF after Semax. The stroke study measured blood BDNF during rehabilitation; rapid brain-expression findings come from animal or cell experiments.

Plasma BDNF is also a biomarker, not proof that a peptide repaired neurons or improved cognition by that mechanism.

2018 Russian stroke study · full report

Comparative clinical study

Gusev et al., Zhurnal Nevrologii i Psikhiatrii, 2018

Among 110 adults, Semax subgroups accumulated more Barthel-index improvement in the first month, while Semax did not significantly change paresis recovery versus rehabilitation alone.

  • Random allocation was reported, but the method and masking were not.
  • The late-rehabilitation Semax and control subgroups differed in time since stroke at baseline.
Participants / model
110 adults after ischemic stroke, 60 in early and 50 in late rehabilitation
Treatment
Standard rehabilitation with or without intranasal Semax 6,000 micrograms daily in two 10-day courses
Follow-up
Five months, with visits at baseline and months 1, 2, and 5
Study design
Russian-language full report of a randomized comparative study; allocation details and masking not reported

Barthel-index and blood-BDNF findings do not establish neural repair.

Read the original source

What is known about Semax safety and product quality?

The Russian 0.1% product instruction lists hypersensitivity, pregnancy, breastfeeding, acute psychiatric states, anxiety disorders, seizure history, and age restrictions as contraindications. It says prolonged use may cause mild nasal-mucosa irritation. Those label statements do not supply a large comparative safety database.

The same older instruction allows some pediatric use from age 7 but excludes patients under 18 in ophthalmology and neurosurgery. That product-specific wording must not be generalized to another concentration, salt, online vial, or country.

FDA staff separately identified insufficient safety characterization, potential immunogenicity, and uncertainty about compounded intranasal products in its 2026 review.

Semax 0.1% instruction · contraindications and route

Manufacturer-hosted Russian product instruction

INPC Peptogen, registration ЛС-002553 dated December 30, 2011

The instruction defines a prescription 0.1% intranasal product, its named Russian uses, contraindications, and possible mild nasal irritation with prolonged use.

Participants / model
People covered by the named Russian 0.1% nasal-drop instruction
Treatment
Semax 0.1% prescription nasal drops
Follow-up
Label dated 2011; current status not established by this file
Study design
Russian-language product instruction hosted by the manufacturer

This older product instruction is not the current 2025 registration file and does not validate a different salt, concentration, or online product.

Read the original source
FDA Semax review · identity, approval, evidence

FDA compounding review

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 2026

FDA found no Semax component in an approved drug and identified identity, device, safety, immunogenicity, and effectiveness concerns.

Participants / model
Semax free base and Semax acetate proposed for U.S. compounding
Treatment
Intranasal nominated uses
Follow-up
Agency review through July 2026
Study design
Regulatory evidence review

This is a compounding-list evaluation, not a clinical trial or approval decision.

Read the original source
PCAC · recommendation against 503A listing

FDA advisory presentation

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 24, 2026

FDA staff concluded that the balancing criteria weighed against adding Semax free base or acetate to the 503A bulks list.

Participants / model
Semax bulk substances proposed for compounding
Treatment
Proposed compounded intranasal products
Follow-up
July 2026 review
Study design
FDA advisory-committee material

The committee process does not create an FDA-approved drug.

Read the original source

Studies and sources

FDA Semax review · identity, approval, evidence

FDA compounding review

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 2026

FDA found no Semax component in an approved drug and identified identity, device, safety, immunogenicity, and effectiveness concerns.

Participants / model
Semax free base and Semax acetate proposed for U.S. compounding
Treatment
Intranasal nominated uses
Follow-up
Agency review through July 2026
Study design
Regulatory evidence review

This is a compounding-list evaluation, not a clinical trial or approval decision.

Read the original source
PCAC · recommendation against 503A listing

FDA advisory presentation

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, July 24, 2026

FDA staff concluded that the balancing criteria weighed against adding Semax free base or acetate to the 503A bulks list.

Participants / model
Semax bulk substances proposed for compounding
Treatment
Proposed compounded intranasal products
Follow-up
July 2026 review
Study design
FDA advisory-committee material

The committee process does not create an FDA-approved drug.

Read the original source
2018 Russian stroke study · full report

Comparative clinical study

Gusev et al., Zhurnal Nevrologii i Psikhiatrii, 2018

Among 110 adults, Semax subgroups accumulated more Barthel-index improvement in the first month, while Semax did not significantly change paresis recovery versus rehabilitation alone.

  • Random allocation was reported, but the method and masking were not.
  • The late-rehabilitation Semax and control subgroups differed in time since stroke at baseline.
Participants / model
110 adults after ischemic stroke, 60 in early and 50 in late rehabilitation
Treatment
Standard rehabilitation with or without intranasal Semax 6,000 micrograms daily in two 10-day courses
Follow-up
Five months, with visits at baseline and months 1, 2, and 5
Study design
Russian-language full report of a randomized comparative study; allocation details and masking not reported

Barthel-index and blood-BDNF findings do not establish neural repair.

Read the original source
2000 Russian optic study · full report

Nonrandom comparative clinical study

Polunin et al., Vestnik Oftalmologii, 2000

Positive visual-acuity change was reported in 83.9% of nasal-drop eyes, 92.1% of electrophoresis eyes, and 68.9% of control eyes.

Participants / model
74 patients, 98 eyes, with mixed vascular, inflammatory, toxic-allergic, or atrophic optic-nerve disease
Treatment
Semax nasal drops or endonasal electrophoresis plus background treatment versus background treatment alone
Follow-up
Five days to two weeks for drops; seven to ten days for electrophoresis
Study design
Russian-language full report of a nonrandom, route-defined comparison

The publication is hosted by the product manufacturer. Analyses at eye level, mixed diagnoses, concurrent therapy, no masking, and a weak between-group significance threshold limit inference.

Read the original source
Semax and Selank fMRI · scan endpoint

Human imaging study

Panikratova et al., Doklady Biological Sciences, 2020

The 52-person study found short-term between-group differences in resting-state connectivity after Semax, Selank, or placebo.

Participants / model
Healthy participants
Treatment
Semax, Selank, or placebo before serial resting-state fMRI
Follow-up
20 minutes after administration
Study design
Placebo-comparison imaging study

Connectivity changes are not cognitive-performance or clinical outcomes.

Read the original source
1997 Russian acute-stroke study · full report

Nonrandom comparative clinical study

Skvortsova et al., Nevrologicheskii Vestnik, 1997

The 30-patient Semax group showed faster early neurologic-scale improvement than 80 controls, but the reported acceleration was not significant by day 21.

Participants / model
30 adults treated with Semax during acute ischemic stroke, compared nonrandomly with 80 controls
Treatment
Intranasal Semax 12, 18, or 24 mg daily for five days plus standard intensive care versus standard care
Follow-up
21 days
Study design
Russian-language full report of a small, nonrandom, multi-endpoint comparison

All groups received other care, and the paper also discussed separate neurotrophic comparator cohorts. The result is not a modern confirmatory stroke trial.

Read the original source
Semax Russia status · 2025 replacement record

Russian drug-registration record

Pharm-Portal. GRLS-derived record for Semax 1% nasal drops, registration ЛП-№(010596)-(РГ-RU), registered June 18, 2025.

Lists Semax 1% nasal drops as active under ЛП-№(010596)-(РГ-RU), registered June 18, 2025 with an indefinite term.

Participants / model
Russian prescription-drug registration
Treatment
Semax 1% nasal drops by INPC Peptogen
Study design
Russian medicine registration listing
Read the original source
Semax 0.1% instruction · contraindications and route

Manufacturer-hosted Russian product instruction

INPC Peptogen, registration ЛС-002553 dated December 30, 2011

The instruction defines a prescription 0.1% intranasal product, its named Russian uses, contraindications, and possible mild nasal irritation with prolonged use.

Participants / model
People covered by the named Russian 0.1% nasal-drop instruction
Treatment
Semax 0.1% prescription nasal drops
Follow-up
Label dated 2011; current status not established by this file
Study design
Russian-language product instruction hosted by the manufacturer

This older product instruction is not the current 2025 registration file and does not validate a different salt, concentration, or online product.

Read the original source

Why is Semax in B tier?

The B tier reflects small human stroke and optic-nerve studies plus a Russian prescription-drug history. The trials do not meet modern pivotal standards, establish healthy-person enhancement, or validate U.S. compounded products.

reptides couldn’t finish loading.

check your connection, then try again. your saved data stays put.