Thymalin

updated

Thymalin is a mixture of peptides extracted from calf thymus, reportedly registered in the USSR in 1982, not the defined peptide thymulin. It is sold for immune support and to slow aging. Its developers reported lower mortality in randomized arms of 24 and 22 people inside a 266-person cohort, published twice and never independently replicated, and a 92-person COVID-19 study showed within-group immune marker changes with no deaths in either arm. Graded D for uncertain composition, an old developer-led record absent from trial registries and no independent check of that mortality result.

calf-thymus peptide extract

  • Calf-thymus peptide mixture
  • Different from thymulin
  • Developers’ patent specifies a 600 to 6,000 Da band
  • Public trial registries list no exact-name Thymalin intervention study.

What exactly is Thymalin?

Thymalin is an acid-extracted calf-thymus peptide mixture spanning a molecular-weight range in the developers’ patent. It has no single sequence or mass and is not thymulin, thymalfasin, thymopentin, or the defined Glu-Trp fraction.

source: US5070076A · mixture specification, Morozov VG, Khavinson VK. US Patent 5,070,076, granted 1991.

source: Cell study · extract diverged from peptides, Avolio F et al. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2022.

Does Thymalin extend human life?

One developer-run program reports lower mortality, but the key randomized comparison was 24 thymalin recipients against 22 placebo recipients inside a 266-person overall dataset. The Russian 2002 and English 2003 publications overlap and do not count as independent replications.

source: 2003 report · small mortality arms inside n=266, Khavinson VKh, Morozov VG. Neuro Endocrinology Letters, 2003.

source: Russian 2002 paper · duplicate dataset, Хавинсон ВХ, Морозов ВГ. Успехи геронтологии, 2002.

Does it improve immune outcomes?

The modern 92-person COVID-19 study reported favorable within-group biomarker changes, but no deaths in either arm and no prespecified between-group clinical effect estimate. A separate Russian retrospective report lacks group denominators in its abstract.

source: Open-label trial · 42 versus 50, Khavinson V et al. Stem Cell Reviews and Reports, 2021.

source: Russian 2022 report · abstract lacks group denominators, Кузник БИ et al. Успехи геронтологии, 2022.

Can the named short peptides explain the extract?

No. Human-cell experiments show nonspecific immune effects and, in one direct comparison, the extract moved adhesion in the opposite direction from four defined peptides. A mixture cannot inherit a single fraction’s target or clinical result.

source: Four-donor cell study · in vitro cytokines, Linkova N et al. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2023.

source: Cell study · extract diverged from peptides

Does IM862 prove Thymalin works?

No. IM862 is defined Glu-Trp, one proposed fraction in the broader lineage. Its 202-person phase 3 trial did not improve response over placebo and therefore cannot serve as positive evidence for the heterogeneous parent extract.

source: Defined Glu-Trp fraction · phase 3 negative, Noy A et al. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 2005.

What is known about safety?

No adequate human pharmacovigilance table or pharmacokinetic study was identified. The extract adds batch-composition, animal-tissue, immune-reaction, contamination, interaction, pregnancy, and repeated-injection uncertainty; a Russian guinea-pig study supplies an animal sensitization signal only.

source: Russian animal study · sensitization signal, Суходоева ГС et al. Журнал микробиологии, эпидемиологии и иммунобиологии, 1993.

source: US5070076A · mixture specification

source: ClinicalTrials.gov/WHO aliases · zero exact records, ClinicalTrials.gov search for thymalin, with Cyrillic spellings and extract aliases, run on 8 September 2026.

Is Thymalin an approved or registered drug?

The cited US and EU records contain no Thymalin approval, and public trial registries contain no exact-name intervention study. A developer-authored account reports a 1982 Soviet registration; that secondary account does not imply US or EU approval. Older unregistered human reports remain separate evidence.

source: US, EU, and historical Soviet status, FDA, EMA, and a developer-authored history of Thymalin.

source: ClinicalTrials.gov/WHO aliases · zero exact records

Studies and sources

2003 report · small mortality arms inside n=266

Developer-run controlled follow-up report

Khavinson VKh, Morozov VG. Neuro Endocrinology Letters, 2003.

The paper describes 266 older people overall, but the St Petersburg randomized mortality comparison used 24 thymalin recipients and 22 placebo recipients. Over six years, 10 of 24 in the thymalin arm and 18 of 22 in placebo died. The paper reports no confidence intervals, survival model, allocation-concealment detail, or dropout accounting, and the developers authored the work.

Participants / model
266 older adults across St Petersburg and Kyiv cohorts; randomized mortality arms of 24 thymalin and 22 placebo in St Petersburg
Treatment
Thymalin, epithalamin, their combination, or placebo in course-based regimens
Follow-up
6 to 8 years of follow-up depending on cohort
Study design
Developer-run stratified controlled follow-up, described as double-blind for the St Petersburg arm

The overall 266 is not the denominator for the key thymalin-versus-placebo mortality comparison.

Read the original source
Russian 2002 paper · duplicate dataset

Russian-language clinical report

Хавинсон ВХ, Морозов ВГ. Успехи геронтологии, 2002.

The Russian-language publication reports the same geroprotective program later published in English in 2003. It is evidence that a Russian human report exists, but it should not be counted as an independent replication.

Participants / model
Older adults in the same St Petersburg and Kyiv research program
Treatment
Thymalin and epithalamin course-based interventions
Study design
Russian-language report of the developer-run controlled cohorts

The 2002 and 2003 reports describe overlapping cohorts and are not independent replications.

Read the original source
Open-label trial · 42 versus 50

Open-label randomized clinical study

Khavinson V et al. Stem Cell Reviews and Reports, 2021.

Forty-two patients received thymalin plus standard care and 50 received standard care. Both arms had no deaths. The paper emphasizes within-group immune and inflammatory marker changes and provides no prespecified between-group clinical effect estimate with confidence interval.

Participants / model
92 hospitalized adults with moderate to severe COVID-19, lymphopenia, and bilateral pneumonia
Treatment
Thymalin plus standard care versus standard care
Follow-up
Five-day treatment with in-hospital follow-up
Study design
Single-center open-label randomized study

Within-group fold changes do not substitute for a direct randomized between-group effect.

Read the original source
Russian 2022 report · abstract lacks group denominators

Russian-language retrospective study

Кузник БИ et al. Успехи геронтологии, 2022.

The Russian abstract reports mortality percentages for standard therapy, tocilizumab, and thymalin groups but does not state group sizes, so deaths cannot be reconstructed or compared reliably from the abstract alone.

Participants / model
Hospitalized people with severe COVID-19; group sizes not reported in the abstract
Treatment
Standard therapy, tocilizumab, or thymalin
Study design
Retrospective Russian-language comparison

The abstract does not report group sizes, so deaths and treatment effects cannot be reconstructed.

Read the original source
US5070076A · mixture specification

Developer patent

Morozov VG, Khavinson VK. US Patent 5,070,076, granted 1991.

The patent describes a calf-thymus preparation as peptide fractions across roughly 600 to 6,000 Da with process and physicochemical characteristics. It provides no clinical efficacy data or independent batch verification.

Study design
Granted composition and process patent

A patent is not a clinical trial, regulator assay, or proof that a current vial matches the claimed process.

Read the original source
Four-donor cell study · in vitro cytokines

Human-cell laboratory study

Linkova N et al. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2023.

Peripheral blood mononuclear cells from four donors were exposed to thymalin and two named dipeptides. Several inflammatory outputs changed in vitro. No donor received thymalin and the experiment cannot establish a clinical immune effect.

Participants / model
Cultured blood cells from 4 human donors
Treatment
Laboratory thymalin, Lys-Glu, and Glu-Trp exposure
Study design
In vitro human-cell experiment
Read the original source
Cell study · extract diverged from peptides

In vitro comparative study

Avolio F et al. International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2022.

Four defined peptides reduced monocyte adhesion in the assay, while the heterogeneous thymalin extract increased it and differed on other cellular outputs. The result demonstrates that named fractions cannot stand in for the parent extract.

Treatment
Thymalin extract and four defined peptides in THP-1 cells
Study design
Replicated in vitro comparative experiment
Read the original source
Russian animal study · sensitization signal

Russian-language animal study

Суходоева ГС et al. Журнал микробиологии, эпидемиологии и иммунобиологии, 1993.

The Russian-language animal report describes increased sensitization to a microbial antigen after thymalin, with repeated injections producing a stronger effect than a single exposure. It is a heterologous animal-protein extract signal in guinea pigs, not a measured human adverse-event rate.

Participants / model
Guinea pigs
Treatment
Single or repeated thymalin exposure with microbial antigen challenge
Study design
Animal immunogenicity experiment
Read the original source
Defined Glu-Trp fraction · phase 3 negative

Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial of a related fraction

Noy A et al. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 2005.

In 202 participants, response was 23% with IM862 and 21% with placebo (P=.46). Median time to progression was 16 versus 35 weeks (P=.012), although the active arm had less concurrent antiretroviral therapy. This tested defined Glu-Trp, not the parent thymalin extract.

Participants / model
202 people with AIDS-related Kaposi sarcoma
Treatment
Intranasal IM862 or placebo
Follow-up
24 weeks
Study design
Randomized double-blind phase 3 trial

The negative Glu-Trp trial does not establish the parent extract's efficacy or inefficacy; earlier uncontrolled fraction signals do not establish a Thymalin effect.

Read the original source

Why is Thymalin in D tier?

The D grade reflects uncertain extract composition, an old developer-led unregistered clinical record, and no independent confirmation of the reported mortality result.

how tiers are graded: methodology · every cited source · about reptides.

Research reference, not medical advice. Entries distinguish product labels, study doses and reported protocols. Check the linked source for the product, route and population.