Clonidine

updated

Clonidine is an FDA-approved central alpha-adrenergic agonist for hypertension (tablets), with an extended-release oral suspension (ONYDA XR, 2024) labeled for pediatric ADHD including as an add-on to stimulants, and moderate-quality Cochrane evidence in opioid withdrawal. The supplier uses, stimulant comedown, physical anxiety and a wired-but-tired state, are not labeled: a PubMed search on 9 October 2026 returned 28 records and none tested clonidine for stimulant withdrawal, and a second search returned 0. In the one anxiety trial reviewed 17% of patients worsened, clonidine suppressed REM sleep in healthy men, and stopping suddenly can cause rebound hypertension.

Central alpha2-adrenergic agonist

  • Clonidine hydrochloride tablets are FDA-labeled for hypertension; ONYDA XR (NDA 217645, approved 24 May 2024) is labeled for ADHD in children 6 and older, including as an add-on to stimulants.
  • A Cochrane review of 26 randomized trials (1,728 participants) found alpha2 agonists reduced the likelihood of severe opioid withdrawal versus placebo (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.18 to 0.57).
  • A PubMed search on 9 October 2026 for clonidine with stimulant withdrawal terms returned 28 records, none testing clonidine for stimulant withdrawal or comedown; a search for wired or comedown terms returned 0.
  • In a 4-week crossover study in 23 patients with generalized anxiety or panic disorder, 17% became worse on clonidine and somatic symptoms improved least.
  • In 8 healthy men, a single night dose of clonidine completely suppressed REM sleep in one and reduced it in the other seven.
  • The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure, more likely with continued beta-blocker treatment.

What is clonidine approved to do?

Clonidine hydrochloride tablets are FDA-labeled for hypertension. ONYDA XR, an extended-release oral suspension approved on 24 May 2024, is labeled for ADHD in children 6 and older, alone or as an add-on to stimulants. Stimulant comedown in adults is not a labeled use.

Clonidine hydrochloride tablets are labeled for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. The tablet label version used here took effect on 30 September 2026. ONYDA XR, an extended-release clonidine hydrochloride oral suspension, is labeled for ADHD in children 6 and older, as monotherapy or as an add-on to CNS stimulant medication; its label version took effect on 11 April 2025. The stimulant add-on approval is for pediatric ADHD, not for adult stimulant comedown.

openFDA Drugs@FDA records include CATAPRES-TTS (transdermal system), NDA 018891, approved 10 October 1984; DURACLON, NDA 020615, approved 2 October 1996; ONYDA XR, NDA 217645, approved 24 May 2024; and generic clonidine hydrochloride, the earliest among the records returned being ANDA 070923 on 4 September 1987. The original CATAPRES tablet application was not among the records returned, so the first U.S. approval date for tablets is not established here. Approvals outside the United States are not covered.

Clonidine free base is C9H9Cl2N3 (230.09 g/mol, CAS 4205-90-7, PubChem CID 2803). Clonidine hydrochloride, the salt in US tablets and ONYDA XR, is C9H10Cl3N3 (266.6 g/mol, CAS 4205-91-8, CID 20179).

Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source
ONYDA XR label, version effective 11 April 2025: pediatric ADHD, alone or with stimulants

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. ONYDA XR (clonidine hydrochloride) extended-release oral suspension, prescribing information, label version effective 11 April 2025. Set ID 4a15c850-9da5-4bdc-a34d-7f740a6149b7.

The label approves ONYDA XR for ADHD in children 6 and older, as monotherapy or as an add-on to CNS stimulant medication. Among patients who completed 5 weeks of a controlled fixed-dose pediatric monotherapy study of clonidine extended-release tablets cited in the label, somnolence was reported by 31% and 38% across the two fixed doses versus 4% on placebo.

Participants / model
Children 6 and older with ADHD
Treatment
ONYDA XR extended-release oral suspension
Follow-up
Label version effective 11 April 2025
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

The stimulant add-on approval is for pediatric ADHD, not for adult stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
Drugs@FDA: CATAPRES-TTS 1984, generics from 1987, ONYDA XR 2024 in the records returned

Regulatory record

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Drugs@FDA application records for clonidine, including CATAPRES-TTS (NDA 018891), DURACLON (NDA 020615), ONYDA XR (NDA 217645) and generic clonidine hydrochloride (ANDA 070923). Dates read from the openFDA Drugs@FDA records.

openFDA Drugs@FDA records include CATAPRES-TTS (transdermal system), NDA 018891, approved 10 October 1984; DURACLON, NDA 020615, approved 2 October 1996; ONYDA XR, NDA 217645, approved 24 May 2024; and generic clonidine hydrochloride, the earliest among the records returned being ANDA 070923 on 4 September 1987. The original CATAPRES tablet application was not among the records returned.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Drug applications
Follow-up
Approvals from 1984 to 2024 in the records returned
Study design
FDA application records
Funding
not stated in the source

The original CATAPRES tablet application was not returned, so the first U.S. approval date for tablets is not established. The generic date is the earliest among the records returned.

Read the original source
PubChem: clonidine and clonidine hydrochloride identity

Chemical identity record

National Library of Medicine. PubChem compound records CID 2803 (clonidine) and CID 20179 (clonidine hydrochloride).

Clonidine free base: C9H9Cl2N3, 230.09 g/mol, CAS 4205-90-7. Clonidine hydrochloride, the salt in US tablets and ONYDA XR: CID 20179, C9H10Cl3N3, 266.6 g/mol, CAS 4205-91-8; the tablet label gives 266.56 and states the tablet strength as the hydrochloride, with a free-base equivalent.

Participants / model
Chemical identity, not a clinical population
Treatment
Defined molecule and salt
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
NLM chemical record
Funding
not stated in the source

Identity record only; it says nothing about efficacy or safety.

Read the original source

What did the opioid withdrawal trials find?

A Cochrane review of 26 randomized trials found moderate-quality evidence that alpha2-adrenergic agonists, including clonidine, reduced the likelihood of severe opioid withdrawal versus placebo (RR 0.32). Hypotensive and other adverse effects were more likely than with methadone tapering. This is opioid withdrawal evidence, not stimulant comedown evidence.

A Cochrane review of 26 randomized trials (1,728 participants) found moderate-quality evidence that alpha2-adrenergic agonists (clonidine, lofexidine, guanfacine, tizanidine) reduced the likelihood of severe opioid withdrawal versus placebo (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.18 to 0.57; 3 studies, 148 participants) and raised treatment completion (RR 1.95, 95% CI 1.34 to 2.84).

Compared with tapering methadone, efficacy did not differ significantly, but hypotensive or other adverse effects were more likely (RR 1.92, 95% CI 1.19 to 3.10). Lofexidine had a better safety profile than clonidine.

The population was people dependent on heroin or methadone, so the result says nothing about stimulant withdrawal.

Cochrane review: 26 trials, 1,728 participants, severe withdrawal RR 0.32

Systematic review and meta-analysis

Gowing L et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2016;2016(5):CD002024. PMID 27140827.

There was moderate-quality evidence that alpha2-adrenergic agonists (clonidine, lofexidine, guanfacine, tizanidine) reduced the likelihood of severe opioid withdrawal versus placebo (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.18 to 0.57; 3 studies, 148 participants) and raised treatment completion (RR 1.95, 95% CI 1.34 to 2.84). Compared with tapering methadone, efficacy did not differ significantly, but hypotensive or other adverse effects were more likely (RR 1.92, 95% CI 1.19 to 3.10). Lofexidine had a better safety profile than clonidine.

Participants / model
People dependent on heroin or methadone; 26 randomized trials with 1,728 participants
Treatment
Alpha2-adrenergic agonists, mostly oral
Follow-up
Pooled randomized trials
Study design
Cochrane systematic review and meta-analysis
Funding
not stated in the source

This is opioid withdrawal evidence, not stimulant comedown evidence.

Read the original source

Does clonidine help with stimulant comedown or a wired-but-tired state?

No study tested it. A PubMed search on 9 October 2026 for clonidine with stimulant withdrawal terms returned 28 records, none testing clonidine for stimulant withdrawal or comedown, and a second search for wired or comedown terms returned 0 records.

Sellers describe clonidine as providing central sympathetic blockade for stimulant comedown, physical anxiety and a wired-but-tired state. The first search covered clonidine with amphetamine, methamphetamine, cocaine, stimulant and psychostimulant terms combined with withdrawal, comedown, crash or abstinence terms in humans, and returned 28 records. None tested clonidine for stimulant withdrawal or comedown.

The records covered opioid withdrawal and detoxification trials, addiction pharmacology reviews, hypertension pharmacology, ADHD adherence and treatment debates, smoking cessation, anesthesia, and drug-induced hepatotoxicity papers, animal behavior papers, a catatonia case, and a cocaine-dependence case series in which clonidine was used only for opioid detoxification and the authors note there is no approved medication for cocaine withdrawal. A second search, clonidine with wired, comedown or come-down terms, returned 0 records.

The label does support the mechanism sellers cite, reduced central sympathetic outflow, but that is not a test of the claim. The only stimulant-related labeled use is ONYDA XR as an add-on to stimulants in children 6 and older with ADHD, a different population and purpose.

PubMed searches, 9 October 2026: 28 and 0 records, none testing clonidine for stimulant comedown

PubMed search record

PubMed search run on 9 October 2026: clonidine[tiab] AND (amphetamine*[tiab] OR methamphetamine[tiab] OR cocaine[tiab] OR stimulant*[tiab] OR psychostimulant*[tiab]) AND (withdrawal[tiab] OR comedown[tiab] OR crash[tiab] OR abstinence[tiab]) AND humans[mh]. 28 records returned. A second search, clonidine[tiab] AND (wired[tiab] OR comedown[tiab] OR come-down[tiab]), returned 0 records.

The first search returned 28 records. None tested clonidine for stimulant withdrawal or comedown. They covered opioid withdrawal and detoxification trials, addiction pharmacology reviews, hypertension pharmacology, ADHD adherence and treatment debates, smoking cessation, anesthesia, and drug-induced hepatotoxicity papers, animal behavior papers, a cocaine-dependence case series in which clonidine was used only for opioid detoxification and the authors note there is no approved medication for cocaine withdrawal, a catatonia case, and the detoxification case report above. The second search returned 0 records. The stimulant comedown and wired-but-tired uses have no study behind them in these records.

Participants / model
Records returned, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 9 October 2026
Study design
Literature search
Funding
not stated in the source

A search result shows what PubMed returned on that date. It is not proof that no unindexed study exists. The link opens the first search.

Read the original source
ONYDA XR label, version effective 11 April 2025: pediatric ADHD, alone or with stimulants

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. ONYDA XR (clonidine hydrochloride) extended-release oral suspension, prescribing information, label version effective 11 April 2025. Set ID 4a15c850-9da5-4bdc-a34d-7f740a6149b7.

The label approves ONYDA XR for ADHD in children 6 and older, as monotherapy or as an add-on to CNS stimulant medication. Among patients who completed 5 weeks of a controlled fixed-dose pediatric monotherapy study of clonidine extended-release tablets cited in the label, somnolence was reported by 31% and 38% across the two fixed doses versus 4% on placebo.

Participants / model
Children 6 and older with ADHD
Treatment
ONYDA XR extended-release oral suspension
Follow-up
Label version effective 11 April 2025
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

The stimulant add-on approval is for pediatric ADHD, not for adult stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source

Does clonidine calm the physical symptoms of anxiety?

In one small crossover study in 23 patients with generalized anxiety or panic disorder, clonidine beat placebo in patients who tolerated it, but 17% became worse and somatic symptoms were least affected.

In a 4-week double-blind placebo-controlled crossover study in 23 patients (9 with generalized anxiety disorder, 14 with panic disorder), clonidine was superior to placebo in patients who tolerated it, but 17% of patients became worse.

Its main effect was fewer anxiety attacks and fewer psychic symptoms. Somatic symptoms, the physical complaints the supplier claim targets, were least affected.

Anxiety crossover: 23 patients, 17% became worse, somatic symptoms improved least

Randomized controlled trial

Hoehn-Saric R et al. Arch Gen Psychiatry. 1981;38(11):1278-82. PMID 7305609.

Clonidine was superior to placebo in patients who tolerated it, but 17% of patients became worse. Its main effect was fewer anxiety attacks and fewer psychic symptoms; somatic symptoms were least affected.

Participants / model
23 adults with generalized anxiety disorder (9) or panic disorder (14)
Treatment
Oral clonidine hydrochloride or placebo
Follow-up
4 weeks
Study design
Double-blind placebo-controlled crossover study
Funding
not stated in the source

Small study in patients with anxiety disorders, not stimulant users.

Read the original source

What does clonidine do to sleep?

In healthy men, clonidine caused profound sedation when awake and marked REM suppression when asleep. In a night study in 8 healthy men, one dose completely suppressed REM sleep in one subject and reduced it in the other seven.

In 18 healthy men aged 18 to 21, a single morning dose of clonidine made subjects significantly sleepier than placebo when trying to stay awake, with a tendency to microsleeps. During a 3-hour nap it reduced REM and stage 1 sleep and increased stage 2 sleep. The authors describe profound sedation when awake and marked REM suppression when asleep.

In a double-blind randomized placebo-controlled crossover trial in 8 healthy men, a single dose of clonidine at night completely suppressed REM sleep in one subject and reduced it in the other seven.

In a placebo-controlled crossover study in 24 hypertensive men aged 31 to 59 given 3 months each of propranolol, clonidine and placebo, treatment had significant effects on overnight polysomnography: total sleep time and sleep maintenance fell, REM latency rose and REM percentage fell. The abstract does not attribute each change to a specific drug. Mood effects were seen with each drug, and nocturnal penile tumescence fell in both younger and older men.

Clonidine sedates and suppresses REM sleep in these studies rather than restoring normal sleep.

Healthy men: 18 men, profound sedation awake and REM suppression asleep

Human study

Carskadon MA et al. Sleep. 1989;12(4):338-44. PMID 2762688.

A single morning dose made subjects significantly sleepier than placebo when trying to stay awake, with a tendency to microsleeps, and during a 3-hour nap reduced REM and stage 1 sleep and increased stage 2 sleep. The authors describe profound sedation when awake and marked REM suppression when asleep.

Participants / model
18 healthy men aged 18 to 21
Treatment
Single oral clonidine 0.25 to 0.3 mg or placebo, in the morning
Follow-up
Single dose with a 3-hour nap
Study design
Placebo-controlled study with polysomnography
Funding
not stated in the source

Healthy young men given one dose; it describes sedation and sleep architecture, not stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
Night dose: 8 healthy men, REM sleep suppressed in 1 and reduced in 7

Randomized controlled trial

Gentili A et al. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 1996;50(6):463-5. PMID 8858272.

A single dose of clonidine at night completely suppressed REM sleep in one subject and reduced it in the other seven.

Participants / model
8 healthy men
Treatment
Single oral clonidine 0.1 mg or placebo, at night
Follow-up
Single night
Study design
Double-blind randomized placebo-controlled crossover trial with nocturnal polysomnography
Funding
not stated in the source

Very small study in healthy men.

Read the original source
Hypertensive men: 24 men, treatment cut total sleep time and REM percentage

Randomized controlled trial

Kostis JB et al. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 1990;102(2):163-70. PMID 2274600.

Treatment had significant effects on overnight polysomnography: total sleep time and sleep maintenance fell, REM latency rose and REM percentage fell. The abstract does not attribute each change to a specific drug. Mood effects were seen with each drug, and nocturnal penile tumescence fell in both younger and older men.

Participants / model
Hypertensive men: 24 aged 31 to 59 in the three-drug crossover; 23 aged 60 to 78 in a separate propranolol-versus-placebo study
Treatment
Oral propranolol 20 to 80 mg twice daily, clonidine 0.1 to 0.3 mg twice daily, or placebo, 3 months each
Follow-up
3 months per treatment
Study design
Placebo-controlled crossover trial
Funding
not stated in the source

The sleep changes are not attributed to a specific drug in the abstract.

Read the original source

How does clonidine work, and what does the body do with it?

Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering heart rate and blood pressure. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment.

The label says clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure. The pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It also acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use.

Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment.

The mechanism, reduced central sympathetic outflow, is label-supported. Whether it eases stimulant comedown has not been tested.

Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source

What risks does the label report?

The label lists dose-related dry mouth, drowsiness, dizziness, constipation and sedation, warns that clonidine may add to the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates and other sedating drugs, and describes overdose effects including bradycardia, respiratory depression, coma and seizures with no specific antidote.

The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. The label gives no rates and no established causality for these.

Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. In the pediatric extended-release study cited in the ONYDA XR label, somnolence was reported by 31% and 38% across the two fixed doses versus 4% on placebo.

In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses. As little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

No study of clonidine in people using stimulants for comedown was found, and the label gives no source on clonidine misuse among stimulant users, so risks in that setting are unmeasured.

Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source
ONYDA XR label, version effective 11 April 2025: pediatric ADHD, alone or with stimulants

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. ONYDA XR (clonidine hydrochloride) extended-release oral suspension, prescribing information, label version effective 11 April 2025. Set ID 4a15c850-9da5-4bdc-a34d-7f740a6149b7.

The label approves ONYDA XR for ADHD in children 6 and older, as monotherapy or as an add-on to CNS stimulant medication. Among patients who completed 5 weeks of a controlled fixed-dose pediatric monotherapy study of clonidine extended-release tablets cited in the label, somnolence was reported by 31% and 38% across the two fixed doses versus 4% on placebo.

Participants / model
Children 6 and older with ADHD
Treatment
ONYDA XR extended-release oral suspension
Follow-up
Label version effective 11 April 2025
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

The stimulant add-on approval is for pediatric ADHD, not for adult stimulant comedown.

Read the original source

What happens if clonidine is stopped suddenly?

The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure, more likely with continued beta-blocker treatment. Rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal.

The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines. This is more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal.

The beta-blocker link matters because the same supplier lists include propranolol. The label gives separate instructions for stopping a beta blocker and clonidine taken together, which this page does not reproduce.

A case report describes clonidine masking the clinical signs of sedative withdrawal during detoxification of a patient dependent on sedatives, opiates and amphetamines. The authors urge caution with clonidine in mixed-drug detoxification. This is a single case.

Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source
Case report: clonidine masked signs of sedative withdrawal in mixed-drug detox

Case report

Hughes PL et al. Mayo Clin Proc. 1985;60(1):47-9. PMID 2856945.

Clonidine masked the clinical signs of sedative withdrawal during detoxification of a patient dependent on sedatives, opiates and amphetamines. The authors urge caution with clonidine in mixed-drug detoxification.

Participants / model
One patient with sedative, opiate and amphetamine dependence
Treatment
Clonidine during detoxification
Follow-up
Single case
Study design
Case report
Funding
not stated in the source

A single case; it flags a possible harm and does not measure how often it happens.

Read the original source

Why does clonidine sit in A tier?

FDA approval for hypertension, an extended-release form approved for pediatric ADHD, moderate-quality Cochrane evidence in opioid withdrawal and decades of use support the A. It sits below S because the label is narrow and most real-world uses are off-label with small or no trials.

The A applies to the labeled uses. The supplier claim is not supported: the mechanism is label-supported, but no study tested clonidine for stimulant comedown or a wired-but-tired state.

In the anxiety trial reviewed, somatic symptoms improved least and 17% of patients worsened. Clonidine sedates and suppresses REM sleep rather than restoring normal sleep. Abrupt stopping can cause rebound hypertension with nervousness and tremor, a risk the label says is greater with continued beta-blocker treatment.

Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source
ONYDA XR label, version effective 11 April 2025: pediatric ADHD, alone or with stimulants

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. ONYDA XR (clonidine hydrochloride) extended-release oral suspension, prescribing information, label version effective 11 April 2025. Set ID 4a15c850-9da5-4bdc-a34d-7f740a6149b7.

The label approves ONYDA XR for ADHD in children 6 and older, as monotherapy or as an add-on to CNS stimulant medication. Among patients who completed 5 weeks of a controlled fixed-dose pediatric monotherapy study of clonidine extended-release tablets cited in the label, somnolence was reported by 31% and 38% across the two fixed doses versus 4% on placebo.

Participants / model
Children 6 and older with ADHD
Treatment
ONYDA XR extended-release oral suspension
Follow-up
Label version effective 11 April 2025
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

The stimulant add-on approval is for pediatric ADHD, not for adult stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
Drugs@FDA: CATAPRES-TTS 1984, generics from 1987, ONYDA XR 2024 in the records returned

Regulatory record

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Drugs@FDA application records for clonidine, including CATAPRES-TTS (NDA 018891), DURACLON (NDA 020615), ONYDA XR (NDA 217645) and generic clonidine hydrochloride (ANDA 070923). Dates read from the openFDA Drugs@FDA records.

openFDA Drugs@FDA records include CATAPRES-TTS (transdermal system), NDA 018891, approved 10 October 1984; DURACLON, NDA 020615, approved 2 October 1996; ONYDA XR, NDA 217645, approved 24 May 2024; and generic clonidine hydrochloride, the earliest among the records returned being ANDA 070923 on 4 September 1987. The original CATAPRES tablet application was not among the records returned.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Drug applications
Follow-up
Approvals from 1984 to 2024 in the records returned
Study design
FDA application records
Funding
not stated in the source

The original CATAPRES tablet application was not returned, so the first U.S. approval date for tablets is not established. The generic date is the earliest among the records returned.

Read the original source
Cochrane review: 26 trials, 1,728 participants, severe withdrawal RR 0.32

Systematic review and meta-analysis

Gowing L et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2016;2016(5):CD002024. PMID 27140827.

There was moderate-quality evidence that alpha2-adrenergic agonists (clonidine, lofexidine, guanfacine, tizanidine) reduced the likelihood of severe opioid withdrawal versus placebo (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.18 to 0.57; 3 studies, 148 participants) and raised treatment completion (RR 1.95, 95% CI 1.34 to 2.84). Compared with tapering methadone, efficacy did not differ significantly, but hypotensive or other adverse effects were more likely (RR 1.92, 95% CI 1.19 to 3.10). Lofexidine had a better safety profile than clonidine.

Participants / model
People dependent on heroin or methadone; 26 randomized trials with 1,728 participants
Treatment
Alpha2-adrenergic agonists, mostly oral
Follow-up
Pooled randomized trials
Study design
Cochrane systematic review and meta-analysis
Funding
not stated in the source

This is opioid withdrawal evidence, not stimulant comedown evidence.

Read the original source
Anxiety crossover: 23 patients, 17% became worse, somatic symptoms improved least

Randomized controlled trial

Hoehn-Saric R et al. Arch Gen Psychiatry. 1981;38(11):1278-82. PMID 7305609.

Clonidine was superior to placebo in patients who tolerated it, but 17% of patients became worse. Its main effect was fewer anxiety attacks and fewer psychic symptoms; somatic symptoms were least affected.

Participants / model
23 adults with generalized anxiety disorder (9) or panic disorder (14)
Treatment
Oral clonidine hydrochloride or placebo
Follow-up
4 weeks
Study design
Double-blind placebo-controlled crossover study
Funding
not stated in the source

Small study in patients with anxiety disorders, not stimulant users.

Read the original source
Healthy men: 18 men, profound sedation awake and REM suppression asleep

Human study

Carskadon MA et al. Sleep. 1989;12(4):338-44. PMID 2762688.

A single morning dose made subjects significantly sleepier than placebo when trying to stay awake, with a tendency to microsleeps, and during a 3-hour nap reduced REM and stage 1 sleep and increased stage 2 sleep. The authors describe profound sedation when awake and marked REM suppression when asleep.

Participants / model
18 healthy men aged 18 to 21
Treatment
Single oral clonidine 0.25 to 0.3 mg or placebo, in the morning
Follow-up
Single dose with a 3-hour nap
Study design
Placebo-controlled study with polysomnography
Funding
not stated in the source

Healthy young men given one dose; it describes sedation and sleep architecture, not stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
PubMed searches, 9 October 2026: 28 and 0 records, none testing clonidine for stimulant comedown

PubMed search record

PubMed search run on 9 October 2026: clonidine[tiab] AND (amphetamine*[tiab] OR methamphetamine[tiab] OR cocaine[tiab] OR stimulant*[tiab] OR psychostimulant*[tiab]) AND (withdrawal[tiab] OR comedown[tiab] OR crash[tiab] OR abstinence[tiab]) AND humans[mh]. 28 records returned. A second search, clonidine[tiab] AND (wired[tiab] OR comedown[tiab] OR come-down[tiab]), returned 0 records.

The first search returned 28 records. None tested clonidine for stimulant withdrawal or comedown. They covered opioid withdrawal and detoxification trials, addiction pharmacology reviews, hypertension pharmacology, ADHD adherence and treatment debates, smoking cessation, anesthesia, and drug-induced hepatotoxicity papers, animal behavior papers, a cocaine-dependence case series in which clonidine was used only for opioid detoxification and the authors note there is no approved medication for cocaine withdrawal, a catatonia case, and the detoxification case report above. The second search returned 0 records. The stimulant comedown and wired-but-tired uses have no study behind them in these records.

Participants / model
Records returned, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 9 October 2026
Study design
Literature search
Funding
not stated in the source

A search result shows what PubMed returned on that date. It is not proof that no unindexed study exists. The link opens the first search.

Read the original source

Studies and sources

Clonidine tablet label, version effective 30 September 2026: hypertension, PK, adverse effects, withdrawal, overdose

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label), prescribing information, label version effective 30 September 2026. Set ID 88a8db46-0fc9-48cd-b7cc-ac9c9cdea100.

The label approves clonidine hydrochloride tablets for hypertension, alone or with other antihypertensives. Clonidine stimulates alpha-adrenoreceptors in the brain stem, reducing sympathetic outflow and lowering peripheral and renal vascular resistance, heart rate and blood pressure; the pulse slows in most patients without altering the normal hemodynamic response to exercise. It acutely stimulates growth hormone release without chronic elevation on long-term use. Oral bioavailability is 70% to 80%, peak levels come in about 1 to 3 hours, and elimination half-life is 12 to 16 hours, up to 41 hours in severe renal impairment. The most frequent adverse effects, which appear dose-related, are dry mouth (about 40 in 100 patients), drowsiness (about 33), dizziness (about 16), and constipation and sedation (about 10 each). Less frequent reports, not all causally linked, include agitation, anxiety, insomnia, nervousness, vivid dreams or nightmares, erectile dysfunction, loss of libido and gynecomastia. Clonidine may potentiate the CNS depression of alcohol, barbiturates or other sedating drugs, and patients are cautioned about driving. The label warns that sudden cessation has caused nervousness, agitation, headache and tremor with a rapid rise in blood pressure and raised plasma catecholamines, more likely after higher doses or with continued beta-blocker treatment, and that rare hypertensive encephalopathy, stroke and death have followed withdrawal. In overdose, hypertension may come first and be followed by hypotension, bradycardia, respiratory depression, hypothermia, drowsiness and reduced reflexes, with conduction defects, apnea, coma and seizures after large overdoses; as little as 0.1 mg has caused toxicity in children, and there is no specific antidote.

Participants / model
Adults with hypertension; label PK participants; patients taking clonidine and overdose cases
Treatment
Clonidine hydrochloride oral tablets (Alembic label)
Follow-up
Label version effective 30 September 2026
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

Label-level statements. The page does not reproduce label dosing, the label's schedule for stopping clonidine, or onset timing. The less frequent adverse reactions carry no rates and no established causality.

Read the original source
ONYDA XR label, version effective 11 April 2025: pediatric ADHD, alone or with stimulants

FDA prescribing information

DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. ONYDA XR (clonidine hydrochloride) extended-release oral suspension, prescribing information, label version effective 11 April 2025. Set ID 4a15c850-9da5-4bdc-a34d-7f740a6149b7.

The label approves ONYDA XR for ADHD in children 6 and older, as monotherapy or as an add-on to CNS stimulant medication. Among patients who completed 5 weeks of a controlled fixed-dose pediatric monotherapy study of clonidine extended-release tablets cited in the label, somnolence was reported by 31% and 38% across the two fixed doses versus 4% on placebo.

Participants / model
Children 6 and older with ADHD
Treatment
ONYDA XR extended-release oral suspension
Follow-up
Label version effective 11 April 2025
Study design
FDA prescribing information
Funding
not stated in the source

The stimulant add-on approval is for pediatric ADHD, not for adult stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
Drugs@FDA: CATAPRES-TTS 1984, generics from 1987, ONYDA XR 2024 in the records returned

Regulatory record

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Drugs@FDA application records for clonidine, including CATAPRES-TTS (NDA 018891), DURACLON (NDA 020615), ONYDA XR (NDA 217645) and generic clonidine hydrochloride (ANDA 070923). Dates read from the openFDA Drugs@FDA records.

openFDA Drugs@FDA records include CATAPRES-TTS (transdermal system), NDA 018891, approved 10 October 1984; DURACLON, NDA 020615, approved 2 October 1996; ONYDA XR, NDA 217645, approved 24 May 2024; and generic clonidine hydrochloride, the earliest among the records returned being ANDA 070923 on 4 September 1987. The original CATAPRES tablet application was not among the records returned.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Drug applications
Follow-up
Approvals from 1984 to 2024 in the records returned
Study design
FDA application records
Funding
not stated in the source

The original CATAPRES tablet application was not returned, so the first U.S. approval date for tablets is not established. The generic date is the earliest among the records returned.

Read the original source
Cochrane review: 26 trials, 1,728 participants, severe withdrawal RR 0.32

Systematic review and meta-analysis

Gowing L et al. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2016;2016(5):CD002024. PMID 27140827.

There was moderate-quality evidence that alpha2-adrenergic agonists (clonidine, lofexidine, guanfacine, tizanidine) reduced the likelihood of severe opioid withdrawal versus placebo (RR 0.32, 95% CI 0.18 to 0.57; 3 studies, 148 participants) and raised treatment completion (RR 1.95, 95% CI 1.34 to 2.84). Compared with tapering methadone, efficacy did not differ significantly, but hypotensive or other adverse effects were more likely (RR 1.92, 95% CI 1.19 to 3.10). Lofexidine had a better safety profile than clonidine.

Participants / model
People dependent on heroin or methadone; 26 randomized trials with 1,728 participants
Treatment
Alpha2-adrenergic agonists, mostly oral
Follow-up
Pooled randomized trials
Study design
Cochrane systematic review and meta-analysis
Funding
not stated in the source

This is opioid withdrawal evidence, not stimulant comedown evidence.

Read the original source
Anxiety crossover: 23 patients, 17% became worse, somatic symptoms improved least

Randomized controlled trial

Hoehn-Saric R et al. Arch Gen Psychiatry. 1981;38(11):1278-82. PMID 7305609.

Clonidine was superior to placebo in patients who tolerated it, but 17% of patients became worse. Its main effect was fewer anxiety attacks and fewer psychic symptoms; somatic symptoms were least affected.

Participants / model
23 adults with generalized anxiety disorder (9) or panic disorder (14)
Treatment
Oral clonidine hydrochloride or placebo
Follow-up
4 weeks
Study design
Double-blind placebo-controlled crossover study
Funding
not stated in the source

Small study in patients with anxiety disorders, not stimulant users.

Read the original source
Healthy men: 18 men, profound sedation awake and REM suppression asleep

Human study

Carskadon MA et al. Sleep. 1989;12(4):338-44. PMID 2762688.

A single morning dose made subjects significantly sleepier than placebo when trying to stay awake, with a tendency to microsleeps, and during a 3-hour nap reduced REM and stage 1 sleep and increased stage 2 sleep. The authors describe profound sedation when awake and marked REM suppression when asleep.

Participants / model
18 healthy men aged 18 to 21
Treatment
Single oral clonidine 0.25 to 0.3 mg or placebo, in the morning
Follow-up
Single dose with a 3-hour nap
Study design
Placebo-controlled study with polysomnography
Funding
not stated in the source

Healthy young men given one dose; it describes sedation and sleep architecture, not stimulant comedown.

Read the original source
Night dose: 8 healthy men, REM sleep suppressed in 1 and reduced in 7

Randomized controlled trial

Gentili A et al. Eur J Clin Pharmacol. 1996;50(6):463-5. PMID 8858272.

A single dose of clonidine at night completely suppressed REM sleep in one subject and reduced it in the other seven.

Participants / model
8 healthy men
Treatment
Single oral clonidine 0.1 mg or placebo, at night
Follow-up
Single night
Study design
Double-blind randomized placebo-controlled crossover trial with nocturnal polysomnography
Funding
not stated in the source

Very small study in healthy men.

Read the original source
Hypertensive men: 24 men, treatment cut total sleep time and REM percentage

Randomized controlled trial

Kostis JB et al. Psychopharmacology (Berl). 1990;102(2):163-70. PMID 2274600.

Treatment had significant effects on overnight polysomnography: total sleep time and sleep maintenance fell, REM latency rose and REM percentage fell. The abstract does not attribute each change to a specific drug. Mood effects were seen with each drug, and nocturnal penile tumescence fell in both younger and older men.

Participants / model
Hypertensive men: 24 aged 31 to 59 in the three-drug crossover; 23 aged 60 to 78 in a separate propranolol-versus-placebo study
Treatment
Oral propranolol 20 to 80 mg twice daily, clonidine 0.1 to 0.3 mg twice daily, or placebo, 3 months each
Follow-up
3 months per treatment
Study design
Placebo-controlled crossover trial
Funding
not stated in the source

The sleep changes are not attributed to a specific drug in the abstract.

Read the original source
Case report: clonidine masked signs of sedative withdrawal in mixed-drug detox

Case report

Hughes PL et al. Mayo Clin Proc. 1985;60(1):47-9. PMID 2856945.

Clonidine masked the clinical signs of sedative withdrawal during detoxification of a patient dependent on sedatives, opiates and amphetamines. The authors urge caution with clonidine in mixed-drug detoxification.

Participants / model
One patient with sedative, opiate and amphetamine dependence
Treatment
Clonidine during detoxification
Follow-up
Single case
Study design
Case report
Funding
not stated in the source

A single case; it flags a possible harm and does not measure how often it happens.

Read the original source
PubChem: clonidine and clonidine hydrochloride identity

Chemical identity record

National Library of Medicine. PubChem compound records CID 2803 (clonidine) and CID 20179 (clonidine hydrochloride).

Clonidine free base: C9H9Cl2N3, 230.09 g/mol, CAS 4205-90-7. Clonidine hydrochloride, the salt in US tablets and ONYDA XR: CID 20179, C9H10Cl3N3, 266.6 g/mol, CAS 4205-91-8; the tablet label gives 266.56 and states the tablet strength as the hydrochloride, with a free-base equivalent.

Participants / model
Chemical identity, not a clinical population
Treatment
Defined molecule and salt
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
NLM chemical record
Funding
not stated in the source

Identity record only; it says nothing about efficacy or safety.

Read the original source

Why is Clonidine in A tier?

A fits an approved medicine with a narrow label, an extended-release form approved for pediatric ADHD, moderate-quality Cochrane evidence in opioid withdrawal and decades of use, graded below S because most real-world uses are off-label with small or no trials. The supplier's stimulant comedown and wired-but-tired uses have no study behind them.