Dutasteride
updated
What is Dutasteride?
Dutasteride blocks both type I and type II 5-alpha-reductase and lowers systemic DHT more than a type-II-only inhibitor. That supports biological plausibility; treatment choice still depends on measured hair outcomes, adverse effects, persistence, route, and the person's goals.
Oral dutasteride is approved in the United States for BPH. In a 917-man, 24-week hair-loss trial, 0.5 mg beat finasteride 1 mg on hair count, width, and frontal photography. Hair-loss use remains off-label in the US, and topical or injected formulations have separate evidence.
Dual type I and type II 5-alpha-reductase inhibitor
- US Avodart approval is for symptomatic BPH, not hair loss.
- In 917 men, oral dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride 1 mg on named 24-week hair endpoints.
- A younger alopecia safety trial found sexual adverse events in 16% versus 8% over 24 weeks.
- The oral steady-state half-life is about five weeks, with detectability for four to six months after stopping.
- A sponsor-funded topical phase 2 trial supports one patented solution, not arbitrary compounds.
- Mesotherapy evidence remains mostly observational, and the cited record for a 2026 randomized letter provides no numerical results.
Is this a BPH question, an oral hair-loss question, or a formulation question?
US Avodart is approved for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate. Oral use for male androgenetic alopecia has randomized evidence but remains off-label in the United States. Topical and scalp-injection products have their own early evidence and cannot borrow Avodart’s approval or pharmacokinetics.
| Use or formulation | Best-supported statement |
|---|---|
| US Avodart | Oral 0.5 mg BPH medicine |
| Oral male hair loss | Several 24-week or six-month randomized trials |
| Topical solution | One small sponsor-funded phase 2 result for a specific patented formulation |
| Scalp mesotherapy | Mostly observational data plus a randomized schedule-comparison letter with no numerical results in the cited record |
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original source917 men · head-to-head oral trial
Randomized active- and placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Gubelin Harcha W et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2014. PMID 24411083.
Men aged 20 to 50 were randomized to dutasteride 0.02, 0.1, or 0.5 mg/day, finasteride 1 mg/day, or placebo for 24 weeks. Dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride on hair count and width in a 2.54-cm target and frontal-view panel photography (P=.003, .004, and .002) and beat placebo on those outcomes. Adverse-event number and severity were similar across groups.
- Participants / model
- 917 men aged 20 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride at three doses, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind active- and placebo-controlled multicenter phase 3 trial
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline authors and sponsorship
The abstract does not provide absolute group hair-count changes, the study lasted six months, and superiority was endpoint specific.
Read the original sourceIndia phase 2 · one sponsor formulation
Randomized double-blind double-dummy phase 2 trial
Panuganti VK et al. Cureus. 2025. PMID 40909044; CTRI/2021/03/032173.
At six Indian centers, 135 men were randomized in five arms to topical dutasteride 0.01, 0.02, or 0.05 percent, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo for 24 weeks. Least-squares mean target-area hair-count change at week 24 was 75.52 with 0.05 percent topical dutasteride versus 41.21 with finasteride and 0.07 with placebo; the 0.05 percent comparison with finasteride was P=.0083.
- Participants / model
- 135 Indian men aged 20 to 60 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- One proprietary topical dutasteride solution at three concentrations versus oral finasteride and placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind double-dummy placebo- and active-controlled phase 2 trial
- Funding
- Shilpa Medicare funded the study, employed multiple authors, assigned the CRO, supported medical writing, and holds related intellectual property
The result applies to this exact patented formulation. Small arms, sponsor involvement, six-month duration, and a phase 2 publication limit transfer to compounded topicals.
Read the original source2026 randomized mesotherapy comparison
Randomized trial letter
Sanabria B et al. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2026. PMID 41328478.
The PubMed record describes a randomized comparison of monthly versus quarterly scalp dutasteride mesotherapy in men with androgenetic alopecia, published as a short letter. It has no abstract and reports no denominator, formulation details, outcome values, or safety results, so it cannot support an efficacy conclusion.
- Participants / model
- Men with androgenetic alopecia; denominator not reported in the cited record
- Treatment
- Monthly versus quarterly dutasteride mesotherapy
- Follow-up
- Not reported in the cited record
- Study design
- Randomized clinical trial reported as a letter
Topical and injection evidence
Literature record set
PubMed and multilingual records.
The cited records include one 135-person phase 2 trial of a proprietary topical solution, retrospective and very small mesotherapy reports, and a 2026 randomized monthly-versus-quarterly mesotherapy letter whose PubMed entry has no abstract. These records do not establish that an arbitrary compounded topical or injected product is equivalent to Avodart or to the specific studied formulations.
- Participants / model
- Published topical and injected dutasteride studies
- Treatment
- Topical, intradermal, mesotherapy, and oral comparator products
- Study design
- Route-specific literature coverage
What was the actual result of the 917-man dutasteride-versus-finasteride trial?
Men aged 20 to 50 received three dutasteride doses, finasteride 1 mg, or placebo for 24 weeks. Dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride on hair count and width in the prespecified 2.54-cm target and on frontal-view panel photography. The respective P values were .003, .004, and .002.
The primary abstract does not report the absolute between-group hair-count difference. It says adverse-event number and severity were similar, but six months is too short and 917 is too small for rare or delayed harms. The comparison applies to men aged 20 to 50, the named endpoints, oral products, and 24 weeks.
917 men · head-to-head oral trial
Randomized active- and placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Gubelin Harcha W et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2014. PMID 24411083.
Men aged 20 to 50 were randomized to dutasteride 0.02, 0.1, or 0.5 mg/day, finasteride 1 mg/day, or placebo for 24 weeks. Dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride on hair count and width in a 2.54-cm target and frontal-view panel photography (P=.003, .004, and .002) and beat placebo on those outcomes. Adverse-event number and severity were similar across groups.
- Participants / model
- 917 men aged 20 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride at three doses, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind active- and placebo-controlled multicenter phase 3 trial
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline authors and sponsorship
The abstract does not provide absolute group hair-count changes, the study lasted six months, and superiority was endpoint specific.
Read the original sourceWhat absolute hair-count changes were reported in placebo-controlled trials?
In 153 Korean men, six-month change was +12.2 hairs/cm2 with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg and +4.7 with placebo. A newer 139-man Korean trial reported +21.53 versus +5.96 at 24 weeks for 0.2 mg versus placebo.
These trials used different target areas, entry criteria, and analysis methods, so their numbers should not be compared as a dose ranking. The newer trial’s 0.5 mg arm was exploratory, and it was not designed to establish that 0.2 mg is equivalent in long-term benefit or safety.
153 men · 12.2 versus 4.7 hairs/cm2
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Eun HC et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2010. PMID 20605255.
In 153 Korean men aged 18 to 49, mean six-month hair-count change was +12.2/cm2 with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg versus +4.7/cm2 with placebo (P=.0319). Self-assessment and blinded photography also favored dutasteride, with no major between-group adverse-event difference reported in the abstract.
- Participants / model
- 153 Korean men aged 18 to 49 with male pattern hair loss
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg daily or placebo
- Follow-up
- 6 months
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
- Funding
- Sponsor not stated in abstract
Six months cannot establish continued benefit, durability after stopping, or rare and persistent harms.
Read the original source139 men · 0.2 mg versus placebo
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Lee WS et al. Annals of Dermatology. 2025. PMID 40771427; NCT04825561.
At 11 Korean centers, 139 men were randomized 2:2:1 to oral dutasteride 0.2 mg, placebo, or exploratory dutasteride 0.5 mg for 24 weeks; 135 completed. The abstract reports target-area hair-count change of 21.53 with 0.2 mg versus 5.96 with placebo (P=.0072). One participant in the 0.2 mg group developed erectile dysfunction and withdrew.
- Participants / model
- 139 Korean men aged 18 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.2 mg, placebo, or exploratory 0.5 mg
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Multicenter randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
- Funding
- Study sponsor and detailed conflicts require medical-review confirmation from the full report
The small 0.5 mg exploratory arm was not a formal equivalence trial, and 24 weeks cannot settle long-term safety.
Read the original sourceDoes dual enzyme blockade prove dutasteride is always the better choice?
Dutasteride blocks both type I and type II 5-alpha-reductase and lowers systemic DHT more than a type-II-only inhibitor. That supports biological plausibility; treatment choice still depends on measured hair outcomes, adverse effects, persistence, route, and the person's goals.
A mechanism can predict direction without settling magnitude or tradeoffs. The strongest cited direct comparison lasted 24 weeks in men aged 20 to 50. It does not rank every duration, age, hair pattern, sex, route, formulation, or safety outcome.
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original source917 men · head-to-head oral trial
Randomized active- and placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Gubelin Harcha W et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2014. PMID 24411083.
Men aged 20 to 50 were randomized to dutasteride 0.02, 0.1, or 0.5 mg/day, finasteride 1 mg/day, or placebo for 24 weeks. Dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride on hair count and width in a 2.54-cm target and frontal-view panel photography (P=.003, .004, and .002) and beat placebo on those outcomes. Adverse-event number and severity were similar across groups.
- Participants / model
- 917 men aged 20 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride at three doses, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind active- and placebo-controlled multicenter phase 3 trial
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline authors and sponsorship
The abstract does not provide absolute group hair-count changes, the study lasted six months, and superiority was endpoint specific.
Read the original sourceDo the BPH sexual adverse-event rates apply directly to younger hair-loss patients?
The populations yield different incidence estimates. The pooled BPH trials had a mean age of 66. In a separate 117-man alopecia safety trial aged 23 to 50, sexual adverse events were 16 percent with dutasteride and 8 percent with placebo during 24 weeks.
| Evidence source | What it found |
|---|---|
| BPH label pool, months 0 to 6 | Impotence 4.7% vs 1.7%; libido decrease 3.0% vs 1.4%; ejaculation disorders 1.4% vs 0.5%; breast disorders 0.5% vs 0.2% |
| Alopecia safety RCT, 24 weeks | Any sexual AE 16% vs 8%; observed events mild or moderate and resolved |
| Current label wording | Sexual reactions may persist; dutasteride’s role in persistence is unknown |
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original source117 younger men · 16% versus 8% sexual AEs
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled safety trial
Tsai TF et al. Journal of Dermatology. 2018. PMID 29667763.
Among 117 men aged 23 to 50, sexual adverse events during the 24-week double-blind period occurred in 16 percent with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg and 8 percent with placebo. All were mild or moderate, resolved during treatment or follow-up, and caused no discontinuations. Both groups then received open-label dutasteride for 24 weeks.
- Participants / model
- 117 men aged 23 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia at sites including Taiwan, South Korea, and Hong Kong
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo for 24 weeks, then open-label dutasteride
- Follow-up
- 48 weeks plus up to 24 weeks follow-up
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled safety phase followed by open-label treatment
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline funded and employed several authors
Small size limits uncommon-event estimates. This trial found resolution in its observed events; the label separately says persistence has been reported and causality is unknown.
Read the original sourceWhat do the semen, pregnancy-handling, and blood-donation warnings mean?
In healthy volunteers treated for 52 weeks, mean total sperm count, semen volume, and motility fell. Mean values remained within normal ranges, but the total sperm-count effect had not reversed by 24 weeks after treatment and the effect on an individual’s fertility is unknown.
- Dutasteride can be absorbed through skin, so pregnant people should not handle leaking capsules.
- Blood donation is deferred until six months after the last dose to avoid exposing a pregnant recipient.
- The long washout means a stop decision does not end exposure quickly.
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original sourceWhat must change when PSA is interpreted?
Avodart lowers serum PSA about 50 percent within three to six months, so the label calls for a new baseline after at least three months and periodic monitoring. Any confirmed rise from the on-treatment nadir needs evaluation even if the absolute value looks normal for an untreated man.
The label also reports Gleason 8 to 10 prostate cancer in 1.0 percent with dutasteride versus 0.5 percent with placebo in REDUCE and says the reason is unresolved. Avodart is not approved to prevent prostate cancer.
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original sourceWhat did the Chinese BPH trial add?
In 253 Chinese adults meeting symptomatic BPH entry criteria, dutasteride reduced prostate volume by 17.14 percent at six months versus 3.71 percent with placebo. Mean urinary-flow and symptom-score improvements were numerically greater but did not differ significantly.
Ad hoc responder definitions favored dutasteride, then eligible volunteers entered a 12-month open-label extension. This adds Chinese BPH population evidence. It does not answer hair efficacy in younger people or validate a nonoral product.
China BPH trial · prostate volume improved
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial with extension
Chinese Dutasteride Phase III Trial Study Group. BJU International. 2012. PMID 22017520.
A Chinese phase 3 study randomized 253 adults with symptomatic BPH to oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo for six months, followed by a 12-month open-label extension. Prostate volume fell 17.14 percent versus 3.71 percent at six months. Mean urinary-flow and symptom-score changes were numerically better but not significantly different; responder findings came from ad hoc analyses.
- Participants / model
- 253 Chinese adults with symptomatic BPH, prostate volume at least 30 cm3, Qmax 5 to 15 mL/s, and AUA-SI at least 12
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo, then open-label dutasteride
- Follow-up
- 6-month randomized phase plus 12-month extension
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind parallel placebo-controlled trial with open-label extension
- Funding
- Industry phase 3 program; precise funding not in abstract
This supports BPH efficacy in a Chinese population, not hair-loss efficacy or safety in younger readers.
Read the original sourceWhat does the 2025 topical phase 2 trial actually support?
It supports one patented solution, not “topical dutasteride” as a universal product. In 135 Indian men across five small arms, the 0.05 percent solution produced a 24-week least-squares mean hair-count change of 75.52 versus 41.21 with oral finasteride and 0.07 with placebo.
The 0.05 percent comparison with finasteride was P=.0083. The manufacturer funded the study, employed several authors, selected the CRO, supported writing, and holds related intellectual property. Phase 2 scale, six-month duration, and exact vehicle and release behavior matter. A compounder changing the vehicle has changed the tested product.
India phase 2 · one sponsor formulation
Randomized double-blind double-dummy phase 2 trial
Panuganti VK et al. Cureus. 2025. PMID 40909044; CTRI/2021/03/032173.
At six Indian centers, 135 men were randomized in five arms to topical dutasteride 0.01, 0.02, or 0.05 percent, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo for 24 weeks. Least-squares mean target-area hair-count change at week 24 was 75.52 with 0.05 percent topical dutasteride versus 41.21 with finasteride and 0.07 with placebo; the 0.05 percent comparison with finasteride was P=.0083.
- Participants / model
- 135 Indian men aged 20 to 60 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- One proprietary topical dutasteride solution at three concentrations versus oral finasteride and placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind double-dummy placebo- and active-controlled phase 2 trial
- Funding
- Shilpa Medicare funded the study, employed multiple authors, assigned the CRO, supported medical writing, and holds related intellectual property
The result applies to this exact patented formulation. Small arms, sponsor involvement, six-month duration, and a phase 2 publication limit transfer to compounded topicals.
Read the original sourceTopical and injection evidence
Literature record set
PubMed and multilingual records.
The cited records include one 135-person phase 2 trial of a proprietary topical solution, retrospective and very small mesotherapy reports, and a 2026 randomized monthly-versus-quarterly mesotherapy letter whose PubMed entry has no abstract. These records do not establish that an arbitrary compounded topical or injected product is equivalent to Avodart or to the specific studied formulations.
- Participants / model
- Published topical and injected dutasteride studies
- Treatment
- Topical, intradermal, mesotherapy, and oral comparator products
- Study design
- Route-specific literature coverage
How strong is the dutasteride mesotherapy evidence?
In a retrospective 541-person cohort, 45.5 percent reported pain. Only 86 people could be evaluated for mesotherapy monotherapy response at one year, and 33 were rated markedly improved. Without a control group, the study cannot estimate the treatment effect.
A 2026 randomized letter compared monthly with quarterly mesotherapy. Its PubMed record has no abstract and reports no denominator, formulation details, numerical outcomes, or safety results. The record establishes the comparison but cannot support an efficacy conclusion.
541-person cohort · pain 45.5%, weak monotherapy denominator
Retrospective multicenter cohort
Saceda-Corralo D et al. Journal of Drugs in Dermatology. 2022. PMID 35816059.
The retrospective series included 541 men and women receiving scalp dutasteride mesotherapy. Pain was reported by 246 people (45.5 percent). Only 86 people, 15.9 percent of the cohort, could be evaluated for one-year mesotherapy monotherapy response; 33 of those had marked improvement.
- Participants / model
- 541 hair-loss patients in routine practice
- Treatment
- Dutasteride mesotherapy, often every three months
- Follow-up
- At least 6 months; one-year response subset
- Study design
- Retrospective multicenter cohort
- Funding
- Not stated in abstract
No randomized control, variable co-treatments, and selective 86-person monotherapy outcome subset prevent a causal efficacy estimate.
Read the original source2026 randomized mesotherapy comparison
Randomized trial letter
Sanabria B et al. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2026. PMID 41328478.
The PubMed record describes a randomized comparison of monthly versus quarterly scalp dutasteride mesotherapy in men with androgenetic alopecia, published as a short letter. It has no abstract and reports no denominator, formulation details, outcome values, or safety results, so it cannot support an efficacy conclusion.
- Participants / model
- Men with androgenetic alopecia; denominator not reported in the cited record
- Treatment
- Monthly versus quarterly dutasteride mesotherapy
- Follow-up
- Not reported in the cited record
- Study design
- Randomized clinical trial reported as a letter
Topical and injection evidence
Literature record set
PubMed and multilingual records.
The cited records include one 135-person phase 2 trial of a proprietary topical solution, retrospective and very small mesotherapy reports, and a 2026 randomized monthly-versus-quarterly mesotherapy letter whose PubMed entry has no abstract. These records do not establish that an arbitrary compounded topical or injected product is equivalent to Avodart or to the specific studied formulations.
- Participants / model
- Published topical and injected dutasteride studies
- Treatment
- Topical, intradermal, mesotherapy, and oral comparator products
- Study design
- Route-specific literature coverage
Why is stopping dutasteride not an instant reset?
At steady state, oral dutasteride has an approximately five-week terminal half-life and may remain detectable for four to six months after stopping. Benefits that require continued DHT suppression can fade, while exposure and interaction potential decline slowly.
Potent chronic CYP3A4 inhibitors such as ritonavir can plausibly increase exposure, and the label advises caution. Postmarketing depressed mood is listed, but voluntary reports cannot estimate frequency or prove causation.
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original sourceWhich identity checks prevent evidence laundering?
The molecule is dutasteride, C27H30F6N2O2, CAS 164656-23-9. Avodart is a 0.5 mg liquid-filled oral capsule. A topical solution or scalp injection needs its own concentration, vehicle, sterility or quality record, systemic-exposure data, and outcome evidence.
An FDA SRS entry confirms chemical identity, not approval. Likewise, finding dutasteride on an ingredient list does not show that a compound matches Avodart or the patented topical solution used in one phase 2 trial.
FDA SRS · chemical identity only
Government substance identity record
US Food and Drug Administration. Substance Registration System, dutasteride, UNII O0J6XJN02I.
Identifies dutasteride, its formula C27H30F6N2O2, molecular weight 528.53 g/mol, CAS 164656-23-9, and UNII. SRS registration is not an approval.
- Participants / model
- Not applicable
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Database record
- Study design
- Curated substance identity record
A chemical identity record cannot establish formulation, route, efficacy, or regulatory indication.
Read the original sourceUS label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original sourceIndia phase 2 · one sponsor formulation
Randomized double-blind double-dummy phase 2 trial
Panuganti VK et al. Cureus. 2025. PMID 40909044; CTRI/2021/03/032173.
At six Indian centers, 135 men were randomized in five arms to topical dutasteride 0.01, 0.02, or 0.05 percent, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo for 24 weeks. Least-squares mean target-area hair-count change at week 24 was 75.52 with 0.05 percent topical dutasteride versus 41.21 with finasteride and 0.07 with placebo; the 0.05 percent comparison with finasteride was P=.0083.
- Participants / model
- 135 Indian men aged 20 to 60 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- One proprietary topical dutasteride solution at three concentrations versus oral finasteride and placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind double-dummy placebo- and active-controlled phase 2 trial
- Funding
- Shilpa Medicare funded the study, employed multiple authors, assigned the CRO, supported medical writing, and holds related intellectual property
The result applies to this exact patented formulation. Small arms, sponsor involvement, six-month duration, and a phase 2 publication limit transfer to compounded topicals.
Read the original sourceTopical and injection evidence
Literature record set
PubMed and multilingual records.
The cited records include one 135-person phase 2 trial of a proprietary topical solution, retrospective and very small mesotherapy reports, and a 2026 randomized monthly-versus-quarterly mesotherapy letter whose PubMed entry has no abstract. These records do not establish that an arbitrary compounded topical or injected product is equivalent to Avodart or to the specific studied formulations.
- Participants / model
- Published topical and injected dutasteride studies
- Treatment
- Topical, intradermal, mesotherapy, and oral comparator products
- Study design
- Route-specific literature coverage
Which conclusions are secure, and which stay open?
US BPH approval, systemic dual-enzyme pharmacology, oral male hair signals, and long persistence are well documented. Comparative superiority is limited to named 24-week endpoints. Topical evidence is formulation-specific, and mesotherapy results remain much less settled.
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original sourceFDA SRS · chemical identity only
Government substance identity record
US Food and Drug Administration. Substance Registration System, dutasteride, UNII O0J6XJN02I.
Identifies dutasteride, its formula C27H30F6N2O2, molecular weight 528.53 g/mol, CAS 164656-23-9, and UNII. SRS registration is not an approval.
- Participants / model
- Not applicable
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Database record
- Study design
- Curated substance identity record
A chemical identity record cannot establish formulation, route, efficacy, or regulatory indication.
Read the original source917 men · head-to-head oral trial
Randomized active- and placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Gubelin Harcha W et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2014. PMID 24411083.
Men aged 20 to 50 were randomized to dutasteride 0.02, 0.1, or 0.5 mg/day, finasteride 1 mg/day, or placebo for 24 weeks. Dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride on hair count and width in a 2.54-cm target and frontal-view panel photography (P=.003, .004, and .002) and beat placebo on those outcomes. Adverse-event number and severity were similar across groups.
- Participants / model
- 917 men aged 20 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride at three doses, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind active- and placebo-controlled multicenter phase 3 trial
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline authors and sponsorship
The abstract does not provide absolute group hair-count changes, the study lasted six months, and superiority was endpoint specific.
Read the original source153 men · 12.2 versus 4.7 hairs/cm2
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Eun HC et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2010. PMID 20605255.
In 153 Korean men aged 18 to 49, mean six-month hair-count change was +12.2/cm2 with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg versus +4.7/cm2 with placebo (P=.0319). Self-assessment and blinded photography also favored dutasteride, with no major between-group adverse-event difference reported in the abstract.
- Participants / model
- 153 Korean men aged 18 to 49 with male pattern hair loss
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg daily or placebo
- Follow-up
- 6 months
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
- Funding
- Sponsor not stated in abstract
Six months cannot establish continued benefit, durability after stopping, or rare and persistent harms.
Read the original source139 men · 0.2 mg versus placebo
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Lee WS et al. Annals of Dermatology. 2025. PMID 40771427; NCT04825561.
At 11 Korean centers, 139 men were randomized 2:2:1 to oral dutasteride 0.2 mg, placebo, or exploratory dutasteride 0.5 mg for 24 weeks; 135 completed. The abstract reports target-area hair-count change of 21.53 with 0.2 mg versus 5.96 with placebo (P=.0072). One participant in the 0.2 mg group developed erectile dysfunction and withdrew.
- Participants / model
- 139 Korean men aged 18 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.2 mg, placebo, or exploratory 0.5 mg
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Multicenter randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
- Funding
- Study sponsor and detailed conflicts require medical-review confirmation from the full report
The small 0.5 mg exploratory arm was not a formal equivalence trial, and 24 weeks cannot settle long-term safety.
Read the original source117 younger men · 16% versus 8% sexual AEs
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled safety trial
Tsai TF et al. Journal of Dermatology. 2018. PMID 29667763.
Among 117 men aged 23 to 50, sexual adverse events during the 24-week double-blind period occurred in 16 percent with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg and 8 percent with placebo. All were mild or moderate, resolved during treatment or follow-up, and caused no discontinuations. Both groups then received open-label dutasteride for 24 weeks.
- Participants / model
- 117 men aged 23 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia at sites including Taiwan, South Korea, and Hong Kong
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo for 24 weeks, then open-label dutasteride
- Follow-up
- 48 weeks plus up to 24 weeks follow-up
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled safety phase followed by open-label treatment
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline funded and employed several authors
Small size limits uncommon-event estimates. This trial found resolution in its observed events; the label separately says persistence has been reported and causality is unknown.
Read the original sourceChina BPH trial · prostate volume improved
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial with extension
Chinese Dutasteride Phase III Trial Study Group. BJU International. 2012. PMID 22017520.
A Chinese phase 3 study randomized 253 adults with symptomatic BPH to oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo for six months, followed by a 12-month open-label extension. Prostate volume fell 17.14 percent versus 3.71 percent at six months. Mean urinary-flow and symptom-score changes were numerically better but not significantly different; responder findings came from ad hoc analyses.
- Participants / model
- 253 Chinese adults with symptomatic BPH, prostate volume at least 30 cm3, Qmax 5 to 15 mL/s, and AUA-SI at least 12
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo, then open-label dutasteride
- Follow-up
- 6-month randomized phase plus 12-month extension
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind parallel placebo-controlled trial with open-label extension
- Funding
- Industry phase 3 program; precise funding not in abstract
This supports BPH efficacy in a Chinese population, not hair-loss efficacy or safety in younger readers.
Read the original sourceIndia phase 2 · one sponsor formulation
Randomized double-blind double-dummy phase 2 trial
Panuganti VK et al. Cureus. 2025. PMID 40909044; CTRI/2021/03/032173.
At six Indian centers, 135 men were randomized in five arms to topical dutasteride 0.01, 0.02, or 0.05 percent, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo for 24 weeks. Least-squares mean target-area hair-count change at week 24 was 75.52 with 0.05 percent topical dutasteride versus 41.21 with finasteride and 0.07 with placebo; the 0.05 percent comparison with finasteride was P=.0083.
- Participants / model
- 135 Indian men aged 20 to 60 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- One proprietary topical dutasteride solution at three concentrations versus oral finasteride and placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind double-dummy placebo- and active-controlled phase 2 trial
- Funding
- Shilpa Medicare funded the study, employed multiple authors, assigned the CRO, supported medical writing, and holds related intellectual property
The result applies to this exact patented formulation. Small arms, sponsor involvement, six-month duration, and a phase 2 publication limit transfer to compounded topicals.
Read the original source541-person cohort · pain 45.5%, weak monotherapy denominator
Retrospective multicenter cohort
Saceda-Corralo D et al. Journal of Drugs in Dermatology. 2022. PMID 35816059.
The retrospective series included 541 men and women receiving scalp dutasteride mesotherapy. Pain was reported by 246 people (45.5 percent). Only 86 people, 15.9 percent of the cohort, could be evaluated for one-year mesotherapy monotherapy response; 33 of those had marked improvement.
- Participants / model
- 541 hair-loss patients in routine practice
- Treatment
- Dutasteride mesotherapy, often every three months
- Follow-up
- At least 6 months; one-year response subset
- Study design
- Retrospective multicenter cohort
- Funding
- Not stated in abstract
No randomized control, variable co-treatments, and selective 86-person monotherapy outcome subset prevent a causal efficacy estimate.
Read the original source2026 randomized mesotherapy comparison
Randomized trial letter
Sanabria B et al. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2026. PMID 41328478.
The PubMed record describes a randomized comparison of monthly versus quarterly scalp dutasteride mesotherapy in men with androgenetic alopecia, published as a short letter. It has no abstract and reports no denominator, formulation details, outcome values, or safety results, so it cannot support an efficacy conclusion.
- Participants / model
- Men with androgenetic alopecia; denominator not reported in the cited record
- Treatment
- Monthly versus quarterly dutasteride mesotherapy
- Follow-up
- Not reported in the cited record
- Study design
- Randomized clinical trial reported as a letter
Topical and injection evidence
Literature record set
PubMed and multilingual records.
The cited records include one 135-person phase 2 trial of a proprietary topical solution, retrospective and very small mesotherapy reports, and a 2026 randomized monthly-versus-quarterly mesotherapy letter whose PubMed entry has no abstract. These records do not establish that an arbitrary compounded topical or injected product is equivalent to Avodart or to the specific studied formulations.
- Participants / model
- Published topical and injected dutasteride studies
- Treatment
- Topical, intradermal, mesotherapy, and oral comparator products
- Study design
- Route-specific literature coverage
Studies and sources
US label · BPH, persistence, and systemic risks
FDA prescribing information
DailyMed. AVODART (dutasteride) soft gelatin capsule. Updated March 12, 2025; prescribing information revised October 2023.
Avodart is a 0.5 mg oral capsule indicated for symptomatic BPH in men with an enlarged prostate, alone or with tamsulosin. The label covers systemic dual 5-alpha-reductase inhibition, roughly five-week steady-state half-life, serum detectability for four to six months after stopping, PSA suppression, high-grade prostate-cancer warning, pregnancy handling, six-month blood-donation deferral, semen changes, sexual and breast adverse reactions, depressed mood reports, and CYP3A inhibitor caution.
- Participants / model
- Men with symptomatic BPH and enlarged prostate
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg soft gelatin capsule
- Follow-up
- Long-term BPH treatment and product pharmacology
- Study design
- Regulatory prescribing information
- Funding
- Manufacturer regulatory program
US approval and mature safety rates concern BPH, largely in older men. Hair loss is not a US labeled indication.
Read the original sourceFDA SRS · chemical identity only
Government substance identity record
US Food and Drug Administration. Substance Registration System, dutasteride, UNII O0J6XJN02I.
Identifies dutasteride, its formula C27H30F6N2O2, molecular weight 528.53 g/mol, CAS 164656-23-9, and UNII. SRS registration is not an approval.
- Participants / model
- Not applicable
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Database record
- Study design
- Curated substance identity record
A chemical identity record cannot establish formulation, route, efficacy, or regulatory indication.
Read the original source917 men · head-to-head oral trial
Randomized active- and placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Gubelin Harcha W et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2014. PMID 24411083.
Men aged 20 to 50 were randomized to dutasteride 0.02, 0.1, or 0.5 mg/day, finasteride 1 mg/day, or placebo for 24 weeks. Dutasteride 0.5 mg beat finasteride on hair count and width in a 2.54-cm target and frontal-view panel photography (P=.003, .004, and .002) and beat placebo on those outcomes. Adverse-event number and severity were similar across groups.
- Participants / model
- 917 men aged 20 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride at three doses, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind active- and placebo-controlled multicenter phase 3 trial
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline authors and sponsorship
The abstract does not provide absolute group hair-count changes, the study lasted six months, and superiority was endpoint specific.
Read the original source153 men · 12.2 versus 4.7 hairs/cm2
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Eun HC et al. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology. 2010. PMID 20605255.
In 153 Korean men aged 18 to 49, mean six-month hair-count change was +12.2/cm2 with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg versus +4.7/cm2 with placebo (P=.0319). Self-assessment and blinded photography also favored dutasteride, with no major between-group adverse-event difference reported in the abstract.
- Participants / model
- 153 Korean men aged 18 to 49 with male pattern hair loss
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg daily or placebo
- Follow-up
- 6 months
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
- Funding
- Sponsor not stated in abstract
Six months cannot establish continued benefit, durability after stopping, or rare and persistent harms.
Read the original source139 men · 0.2 mg versus placebo
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
Lee WS et al. Annals of Dermatology. 2025. PMID 40771427; NCT04825561.
At 11 Korean centers, 139 men were randomized 2:2:1 to oral dutasteride 0.2 mg, placebo, or exploratory dutasteride 0.5 mg for 24 weeks; 135 completed. The abstract reports target-area hair-count change of 21.53 with 0.2 mg versus 5.96 with placebo (P=.0072). One participant in the 0.2 mg group developed erectile dysfunction and withdrew.
- Participants / model
- 139 Korean men aged 18 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.2 mg, placebo, or exploratory 0.5 mg
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Multicenter randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase 3 trial
- Funding
- Study sponsor and detailed conflicts require medical-review confirmation from the full report
The small 0.5 mg exploratory arm was not a formal equivalence trial, and 24 weeks cannot settle long-term safety.
Read the original source117 younger men · 16% versus 8% sexual AEs
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled safety trial
Tsai TF et al. Journal of Dermatology. 2018. PMID 29667763.
Among 117 men aged 23 to 50, sexual adverse events during the 24-week double-blind period occurred in 16 percent with oral dutasteride 0.5 mg and 8 percent with placebo. All were mild or moderate, resolved during treatment or follow-up, and caused no discontinuations. Both groups then received open-label dutasteride for 24 weeks.
- Participants / model
- 117 men aged 23 to 50 with androgenetic alopecia at sites including Taiwan, South Korea, and Hong Kong
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo for 24 weeks, then open-label dutasteride
- Follow-up
- 48 weeks plus up to 24 weeks follow-up
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled safety phase followed by open-label treatment
- Funding
- GlaxoSmithKline funded and employed several authors
Small size limits uncommon-event estimates. This trial found resolution in its observed events; the label separately says persistence has been reported and causality is unknown.
Read the original sourceChina BPH trial · prostate volume improved
Randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial with extension
Chinese Dutasteride Phase III Trial Study Group. BJU International. 2012. PMID 22017520.
A Chinese phase 3 study randomized 253 adults with symptomatic BPH to oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo for six months, followed by a 12-month open-label extension. Prostate volume fell 17.14 percent versus 3.71 percent at six months. Mean urinary-flow and symptom-score changes were numerically better but not significantly different; responder findings came from ad hoc analyses.
- Participants / model
- 253 Chinese adults with symptomatic BPH, prostate volume at least 30 cm3, Qmax 5 to 15 mL/s, and AUA-SI at least 12
- Treatment
- Oral dutasteride 0.5 mg or placebo, then open-label dutasteride
- Follow-up
- 6-month randomized phase plus 12-month extension
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind parallel placebo-controlled trial with open-label extension
- Funding
- Industry phase 3 program; precise funding not in abstract
This supports BPH efficacy in a Chinese population, not hair-loss efficacy or safety in younger readers.
Read the original sourceIndia phase 2 · one sponsor formulation
Randomized double-blind double-dummy phase 2 trial
Panuganti VK et al. Cureus. 2025. PMID 40909044; CTRI/2021/03/032173.
At six Indian centers, 135 men were randomized in five arms to topical dutasteride 0.01, 0.02, or 0.05 percent, oral finasteride 1 mg, or placebo for 24 weeks. Least-squares mean target-area hair-count change at week 24 was 75.52 with 0.05 percent topical dutasteride versus 41.21 with finasteride and 0.07 with placebo; the 0.05 percent comparison with finasteride was P=.0083.
- Participants / model
- 135 Indian men aged 20 to 60 with androgenetic alopecia
- Treatment
- One proprietary topical dutasteride solution at three concentrations versus oral finasteride and placebo
- Follow-up
- 24 weeks
- Study design
- Randomized double-blind double-dummy placebo- and active-controlled phase 2 trial
- Funding
- Shilpa Medicare funded the study, employed multiple authors, assigned the CRO, supported medical writing, and holds related intellectual property
The result applies to this exact patented formulation. Small arms, sponsor involvement, six-month duration, and a phase 2 publication limit transfer to compounded topicals.
Read the original source541-person cohort · pain 45.5%, weak monotherapy denominator
Retrospective multicenter cohort
Saceda-Corralo D et al. Journal of Drugs in Dermatology. 2022. PMID 35816059.
The retrospective series included 541 men and women receiving scalp dutasteride mesotherapy. Pain was reported by 246 people (45.5 percent). Only 86 people, 15.9 percent of the cohort, could be evaluated for one-year mesotherapy monotherapy response; 33 of those had marked improvement.
- Participants / model
- 541 hair-loss patients in routine practice
- Treatment
- Dutasteride mesotherapy, often every three months
- Follow-up
- At least 6 months; one-year response subset
- Study design
- Retrospective multicenter cohort
- Funding
- Not stated in abstract
No randomized control, variable co-treatments, and selective 86-person monotherapy outcome subset prevent a causal efficacy estimate.
Read the original source2026 randomized mesotherapy comparison
Randomized trial letter
Sanabria B et al. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology. 2026. PMID 41328478.
The PubMed record describes a randomized comparison of monthly versus quarterly scalp dutasteride mesotherapy in men with androgenetic alopecia, published as a short letter. It has no abstract and reports no denominator, formulation details, outcome values, or safety results, so it cannot support an efficacy conclusion.
- Participants / model
- Men with androgenetic alopecia; denominator not reported in the cited record
- Treatment
- Monthly versus quarterly dutasteride mesotherapy
- Follow-up
- Not reported in the cited record
- Study design
- Randomized clinical trial reported as a letter
Topical and injection evidence
Literature record set
PubMed and multilingual records.
The cited records include one 135-person phase 2 trial of a proprietary topical solution, retrospective and very small mesotherapy reports, and a 2026 randomized monthly-versus-quarterly mesotherapy letter whose PubMed entry has no abstract. These records do not establish that an arbitrary compounded topical or injected product is equivalent to Avodart or to the specific studied formulations.
- Participants / model
- Published topical and injected dutasteride studies
- Treatment
- Topical, intradermal, mesotherapy, and oral comparator products
- Study design
- Route-specific literature coverage
Why is Dutasteride in A tier?
A reflects an approved oral medicine, a mature systemic safety file, and randomized oral male-alopecia trials. Hair-loss use remains off-label in the US; topical and injected products do not share oral approval or pharmacokinetics.
read Dutasteride in the reptides guide, chapter 30: 7 pages, free to read.