Ovagen
updated
Ovagen is the name the Khavinson group of Russian short-peptide bioregulators gives to the tripeptide Glu-Asp-Leu, sold for reproductive tissue support in women. No human study exists, and no study of any kind tested the peptide in an ovary or a uterus: its published record is kidney protection in rats, and the group's own tables list it as a nephroprotector and hepatoprotector. Ovagen is also the name of a livestock gonadotrophin product and a homeopathic formula, and neither is the peptide.
Synthetic tripeptide bioregulator
- PubChem has no record under the name Ovagen. The tripeptide Glu-Asp-Leu (EDL) is CID 444128, C15H25N3O8, molecular weight 375.37, with no CAS number, and the group's 2022 table lists Ovagen (EDL).
- Naming warning: Ovagen is also the name of a livestock gonadotrophin product and of a homeopathic formula on a DailyMed label. Neither is the tripeptide.
- The group's tables label Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector and list no reproductive role; a 2017 rat study found a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin nephropathy and in kidney ischemia and reperfusion injury.
- The hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
- A PubMed search on 10 October 2026 for the peptide with ovary, women, fertility, menopause or reproductive terms returned 24 records, and none concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women.
- openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as a brand or generic name, and ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study.
What is Ovagen, and is it an approved drug?
The Khavinson group's tables tie the name Ovagen to the tripeptide Glu-Asp-Leu (EDL), a link that PubChem does not make. openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for the name and ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study, so no FDA record of the peptide was found. Two other products share the name and are not the peptide.
A PubChem name search for Ovagen returned no record. The tripeptide Glu-Asp-Leu is PubChem CID 444128, C15H25N3O8, molecular weight 375.37, with no CAS number and no Ovagen synonym. The group's 2022 table of ultrashort peptides in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences lists Ovagen (EDL), and its 2021 systematic review in Molecules lists EDL, Ovagen. A 2014 abstract gives the group's laboratory code T-35 for EDL. The trade name is tied to the sequence by the group's tables, not by PubChem.
On 10 October 2026 openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as a brand or generic name, and ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. That covers FDA and registry sources and says nothing about other regulators. A homeopathic product named R18 OVAGEN does have a DailyMed label, and it is not this peptide; see the next section.
PubChem: Glu-Asp-Leu identity
Chemical identity record
National Library of Medicine. PubChem compound record CID 444128.
A PubChem name search for Ovagen returned no record. The tripeptide Glu-Asp-Leu is CID 444128, C15H25N3O8, molecular weight 375.37, with no CAS number and no Ovagen synonym. The group's 2022 table of ultrashort peptides in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences lists Ovagen (EDL), and its 2021 systematic review in Molecules lists EDL, Ovagen. A 2014 abstract gives the group's laboratory code T-35 for EDL. The trade name is tied to the sequence by the group's tables, not by PubChem.
- Participants / model
- Chemical identity, not a clinical population
- Treatment
- Defined synthetic peptide
- Follow-up
- Not applicable
- Study design
- NLM chemical record
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The record defines the sequence only. The link from the name Ovagen to the sequence rests on the group's own tables.
Read the original sourcePubMed: 24 records on ovary, women or fertility, none about the peptide
PubMed search record
PubMed searches run 10 October 2026: ovagen; (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive); ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson). ClinicalTrials.gov and openFDA Drugs@FDA queries, run the same day.
A PubMed search for (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive) returned 24 records. Every title was reviewed: 20 are livestock, goat, or rat reproduction papers, 2 are human testicular tissue and embryo cryopreservation methods papers, 1 is a letrozole approval summary, and 1 is an unrelated 1985 biochemistry paper. None concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women. A search for ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson) returned 1 record, a beef cattle follicular aspiration paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as brand or generic name. In the records reviewed there is no ovarian, uterine, or hormonal experiment with the peptide in any species, no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics, and no human safety data.
- Participants / model
- Records reviewed, not a population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Search run on 10 October 2026
- Study design
- Dated literature and registry search
- Funding
- not stated in the source
An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished work exists.
Read the original sourceWhich other products called Ovagen are not this peptide?
Ovagen is also the name of a livestock gonadotrophin product, named in a PubMed title beside Folltropin, and of a homeopathic formula on a DailyMed label for menstrual discomfort and hot flashes. Neither is the tripeptide, and nothing about them is used as evidence on this page.
A PubMed search for ovagen returned 34 records. By title, 24 concern livestock or rat reproduction, mostly superovulation with FSH in goats, sheep and cattle, and one 1989 title (PMID 16031503) names Ovagen as a treatment given alongside Folltropin, so Ovagen is also a commercial gonadotrophin product. None of the 34 titles is a Khavinson peptide paper.
A DailyMed label for R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics, label effective 2024-01-08) lists a homeopathic formula that includes adenosine triphosphate, agnus castus and progesterone at homeopathic potencies, and says it is for temporary relief of minor menstrual discomfort, hot flashes and melancholy. The label states that its claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated.
Naming warning: neither product is the tripeptide, and both point toward women or reproduction. Any label, paper or record cited as Ovagen needs the sequence stated before it is attributed to the peptide.
Naming warning: homeopathic R18 OVAGEN and a livestock gonadotrophin are not the peptide
Regulatory record
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics) label record. Set ID bf4f268b-f6bc-2485-e053-2a95a90aced4, version 2 published 2024-01-10.
A PubMed search for ovagen returned 34 records. By title, 24 concern livestock or rat reproduction, mostly superovulation with FSH in goats, sheep, and cattle, and one 1989 title (PMID 16031503) names Ovagen as a treatment given alongside Folltropin, so Ovagen is also a commercial gonadotrophin product; none of the 34 titles is a Khavinson peptide paper. A DailyMed label for R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics, label effective 2024-01-08) lists a homeopathic formula that includes adenosine triphosphate, agnus castus, and progesterone at homeopathic potencies, and says it is for temporary relief of minor menstrual discomfort, hot flashes, and melancholy. The label states that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. Neither product is the tripeptide.
- Participants / model
- Not a clinical population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Not applicable
- Study design
- Official label record for an unrelated homeopathic product, plus PubMed titles
- Funding
- not stated in the source
Naming warning only. These products are not the tripeptide and are not evidence about it.
Read the original sourceWhat did the rat kidney studies find?
In rats, the Glu-Asp-Leu peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in kidney ischemia and reperfusion injury, and in cisplatin kidney failure a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures. No ovarian, uterine or hormonal experiment with the peptide exists in any species.
The group reports a 2017 rat study in which the EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
In rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure, a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures and reduced urinary protein, and the authors call EDL potent as a nephroprotector. The kidney polypeptide complex is a calf kidney extract and a separate product from the tripeptide. The abstract gives no dose or route.
In primary kidney cell cultures during aging, a calf kidney polypeptide complex and the peptide T-31 (AED) activated cell renewal markers, while the abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). A comparison peptide, not EDL, carried the cell renewal result.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, and its 2021 review lists regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role. The hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
2017 rat kidney study: gentamycin nephropathy and ischemia-reperfusion injury
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(3):389-393. PMID 28744634.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, citing a 2017 rat paper and a patent application, and the 2021 review lists its functions as regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection, and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role for it. Under its sequence name the group reports a 2017 rat study in which EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation, and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
- Participants / model
- Rats with gentamycin nephropathy or kidney ischemia and reperfusion
- Treatment
- EDL peptide as dosed in the report; dose and route not stated in the abstract
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury models
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The kidney result is for the peptide under its sequence name. The group's hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
Read the original sourceRat cisplatin kidney failure, and kidney cell cultures with comparison peptides
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;159(6):736-9. PMID 26515176.
In rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure, a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures and reduced urinary protein, and the authors call EDL potent as a nephroprotector. In primary kidney cell cultures during aging (PMID 24958378), a calf kidney polypeptide complex and the peptide T-31 (AED) activated cell renewal markers, while the abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). A comparison peptide, not EDL, carried the cell renewal result.
- Participants / model
- Rats with cisplatin renal failure; primary kidney cell cultures
- Treatment
- Peptides as dosed in the reports; peptides in culture medium
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury model and kidney cell culture
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The calf kidney polypeptide complex tested beside EDL is a calf kidney extract and a separate product from the tripeptide. Dose and route are not in the abstracts.
Read the original sourceDoes Ovagen support reproductive tissue in women?
No record supports it. A PubMed search for the peptide with ovary, women, fertility, menopause or reproductive terms returned 24 records, and none concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women. The peptide's published effects are kidney protection in rats, and no study tested it in an ovary, a uterus or a woman.
Sellers promote Ovagen for reproductive tissue support in women. On 10 October 2026 a PubMed search for (ovagen OR Glu-Asp-Leu OR EDL peptide) AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive) returned 24 records. Every title was reviewed: 20 are livestock, goat or rat reproduction papers, 2 are human testicular tissue and embryo cryopreservation methods papers, 1 is a letrozole approval summary, and 1 is an unrelated 1985 biochemistry paper. None concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women.
A search for ovagen with clinical trial or randomized controlled trial publication types and peptide or Khavinson terms returned 1 record, a beef cattle follicular aspiration paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. In the records reviewed there is no ovarian, uterine or hormonal experiment with the peptide in any species, no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics and no human safety data.
The group's own tables assign the peptide to kidney and liver, so the reproductive claim does not match the peptide's literature. The reproductive associations of the name come from a livestock gonadotrophin product and a homeopathic formula, which are not this peptide.
Every result on this page is for the synthetic tripeptide. Tissue-extract products sold under similar names are different things, and no PubMed record describes a Cytomax or Cytogen retail product, so nothing here is cited to those product lines.
PubMed: 24 records on ovary, women or fertility, none about the peptide
PubMed search record
PubMed searches run 10 October 2026: ovagen; (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive); ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson). ClinicalTrials.gov and openFDA Drugs@FDA queries, run the same day.
A PubMed search for (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive) returned 24 records. Every title was reviewed: 20 are livestock, goat, or rat reproduction papers, 2 are human testicular tissue and embryo cryopreservation methods papers, 1 is a letrozole approval summary, and 1 is an unrelated 1985 biochemistry paper. None concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women. A search for ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson) returned 1 record, a beef cattle follicular aspiration paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as brand or generic name. In the records reviewed there is no ovarian, uterine, or hormonal experiment with the peptide in any species, no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics, and no human safety data.
- Participants / model
- Records reviewed, not a population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Search run on 10 October 2026
- Study design
- Dated literature and registry search
- Funding
- not stated in the source
An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished work exists.
Read the original source2017 rat kidney study: gentamycin nephropathy and ischemia-reperfusion injury
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(3):389-393. PMID 28744634.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, citing a 2017 rat paper and a patent application, and the 2021 review lists its functions as regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection, and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role for it. Under its sequence name the group reports a 2017 rat study in which EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation, and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
- Participants / model
- Rats with gentamycin nephropathy or kidney ischemia and reperfusion
- Treatment
- EDL peptide as dosed in the report; dose and route not stated in the abstract
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury models
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The kidney result is for the peptide under its sequence name. The group's hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
Read the original sourceRat cisplatin kidney failure, and kidney cell cultures with comparison peptides
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;159(6):736-9. PMID 26515176.
In rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure, a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures and reduced urinary protein, and the authors call EDL potent as a nephroprotector. In primary kidney cell cultures during aging (PMID 24958378), a calf kidney polypeptide complex and the peptide T-31 (AED) activated cell renewal markers, while the abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). A comparison peptide, not EDL, carried the cell renewal result.
- Participants / model
- Rats with cisplatin renal failure; primary kidney cell cultures
- Treatment
- Peptides as dosed in the reports; peptides in culture medium
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury model and kidney cell culture
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The calf kidney polypeptide complex tested beside EDL is a calf kidney extract and a separate product from the tripeptide. Dose and route are not in the abstracts.
Read the original sourceHow is Ovagen thought to work?
No mechanism is established. A 2014 abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of the Glu-Asp-Leu peptide (code T-35), and the group's 2021 review lists DNA binding among its functions. No pharmacokinetic data exist.
The one mechanism-level statement is from a 2014 abstract on kidney cell cultures, which says the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). The group's 2021 review lists regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection and DNA binding as functions of the peptide.
The 2017 rat kidney study describes outcomes, such as antioxidant enzyme activity, lipid peroxidation and kidney cell energy supply, rather than a pathway. The abstracts give no dose or route, and no pharmacokinetic data were found in any species, so how the peptide acts, or where it goes in the body, is not described.
Rat cisplatin kidney failure, and kidney cell cultures with comparison peptides
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;159(6):736-9. PMID 26515176.
In rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure, a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures and reduced urinary protein, and the authors call EDL potent as a nephroprotector. In primary kidney cell cultures during aging (PMID 24958378), a calf kidney polypeptide complex and the peptide T-31 (AED) activated cell renewal markers, while the abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). A comparison peptide, not EDL, carried the cell renewal result.
- Participants / model
- Rats with cisplatin renal failure; primary kidney cell cultures
- Treatment
- Peptides as dosed in the reports; peptides in culture medium
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury model and kidney cell culture
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The calf kidney polypeptide complex tested beside EDL is a calf kidney extract and a separate product from the tripeptide. Dose and route are not in the abstracts.
Read the original source2017 rat kidney study: gentamycin nephropathy and ischemia-reperfusion injury
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(3):389-393. PMID 28744634.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, citing a 2017 rat paper and a patent application, and the 2021 review lists its functions as regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection, and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role for it. Under its sequence name the group reports a 2017 rat study in which EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation, and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
- Participants / model
- Rats with gentamycin nephropathy or kidney ischemia and reperfusion
- Treatment
- EDL peptide as dosed in the report; dose and route not stated in the abstract
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury models
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The kidney result is for the peptide under its sequence name. The group's hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
Read the original sourceWhat is known about the safety of Ovagen?
No human safety data exist for the Glu-Asp-Leu peptide: the searches found no human dose, pharmacokinetics or safety outcome. The rat kidney abstracts give no dose or route, so animal safety is not described, and other products share the name Ovagen, so a record needs the sequence stated before it is attributed to the peptide.
A PubMed search on 10 October 2026 found no human study of the peptide, so there is no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics and no human safety data. The rat kidney abstracts report kidney outcomes and give no dose or route.
A livestock gonadotrophin product and a homeopathic formula also carry the name Ovagen. Neither is the peptide, and a label, trial or database record cited as Ovagen needs the sequence stated to keep them apart.
PubMed: 24 records on ovary, women or fertility, none about the peptide
PubMed search record
PubMed searches run 10 October 2026: ovagen; (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive); ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson). ClinicalTrials.gov and openFDA Drugs@FDA queries, run the same day.
A PubMed search for (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive) returned 24 records. Every title was reviewed: 20 are livestock, goat, or rat reproduction papers, 2 are human testicular tissue and embryo cryopreservation methods papers, 1 is a letrozole approval summary, and 1 is an unrelated 1985 biochemistry paper. None concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women. A search for ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson) returned 1 record, a beef cattle follicular aspiration paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as brand or generic name. In the records reviewed there is no ovarian, uterine, or hormonal experiment with the peptide in any species, no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics, and no human safety data.
- Participants / model
- Records reviewed, not a population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Search run on 10 October 2026
- Study design
- Dated literature and registry search
- Funding
- not stated in the source
An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished work exists.
Read the original source2017 rat kidney study: gentamycin nephropathy and ischemia-reperfusion injury
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(3):389-393. PMID 28744634.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, citing a 2017 rat paper and a patent application, and the 2021 review lists its functions as regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection, and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role for it. Under its sequence name the group reports a 2017 rat study in which EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation, and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
- Participants / model
- Rats with gentamycin nephropathy or kidney ischemia and reperfusion
- Treatment
- EDL peptide as dosed in the report; dose and route not stated in the abstract
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury models
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The kidney result is for the peptide under its sequence name. The group's hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
Read the original sourceNaming warning: homeopathic R18 OVAGEN and a livestock gonadotrophin are not the peptide
Regulatory record
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics) label record. Set ID bf4f268b-f6bc-2485-e053-2a95a90aced4, version 2 published 2024-01-10.
A PubMed search for ovagen returned 34 records. By title, 24 concern livestock or rat reproduction, mostly superovulation with FSH in goats, sheep, and cattle, and one 1989 title (PMID 16031503) names Ovagen as a treatment given alongside Folltropin, so Ovagen is also a commercial gonadotrophin product; none of the 34 titles is a Khavinson peptide paper. A DailyMed label for R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics, label effective 2024-01-08) lists a homeopathic formula that includes adenosine triphosphate, agnus castus, and progesterone at homeopathic potencies, and says it is for temporary relief of minor menstrual discomfort, hot flashes, and melancholy. The label states that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. Neither product is the tripeptide.
- Participants / model
- Not a clinical population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Not applicable
- Study design
- Official label record for an unrelated homeopathic product, plus PubMed titles
- Funding
- not stated in the source
Naming warning only. These products are not the tripeptide and are not evidence about it.
Read the original sourceWhy does Ovagen sit in D tier?
The peptide has a real rat kidney record, but the supplier use is a different organ system, and the group's own tables assign it to kidney and liver. No study tested it in an ovary, a uterus or a woman, and two other products carry the name Ovagen.
The Glu-Asp-Leu peptide has three studies in rats and kidney cells, which alone would describe a thin preclinical profile for kidney protection. The use being sold is reproductive tissue support in women, a different organ system, and the group's own tables, the only sources that link the name to the sequence, assign the peptide to kidney and liver.
The two products that really are called Ovagen and relate to women or reproduction are a livestock gonadotrophin product and a homeopathic formula. The claim is not supported by anything the peptide's literature reports.
2017 rat kidney study: gentamycin nephropathy and ischemia-reperfusion injury
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(3):389-393. PMID 28744634.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, citing a 2017 rat paper and a patent application, and the 2021 review lists its functions as regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection, and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role for it. Under its sequence name the group reports a 2017 rat study in which EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation, and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
- Participants / model
- Rats with gentamycin nephropathy or kidney ischemia and reperfusion
- Treatment
- EDL peptide as dosed in the report; dose and route not stated in the abstract
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury models
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The kidney result is for the peptide under its sequence name. The group's hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
Read the original sourceRat cisplatin kidney failure, and kidney cell cultures with comparison peptides
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;159(6):736-9. PMID 26515176.
In rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure, a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures and reduced urinary protein, and the authors call EDL potent as a nephroprotector. In primary kidney cell cultures during aging (PMID 24958378), a calf kidney polypeptide complex and the peptide T-31 (AED) activated cell renewal markers, while the abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). A comparison peptide, not EDL, carried the cell renewal result.
- Participants / model
- Rats with cisplatin renal failure; primary kidney cell cultures
- Treatment
- Peptides as dosed in the reports; peptides in culture medium
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury model and kidney cell culture
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The calf kidney polypeptide complex tested beside EDL is a calf kidney extract and a separate product from the tripeptide. Dose and route are not in the abstracts.
Read the original sourcePubMed: 24 records on ovary, women or fertility, none about the peptide
PubMed search record
PubMed searches run 10 October 2026: ovagen; (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive); ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson). ClinicalTrials.gov and openFDA Drugs@FDA queries, run the same day.
A PubMed search for (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive) returned 24 records. Every title was reviewed: 20 are livestock, goat, or rat reproduction papers, 2 are human testicular tissue and embryo cryopreservation methods papers, 1 is a letrozole approval summary, and 1 is an unrelated 1985 biochemistry paper. None concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women. A search for ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson) returned 1 record, a beef cattle follicular aspiration paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as brand or generic name. In the records reviewed there is no ovarian, uterine, or hormonal experiment with the peptide in any species, no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics, and no human safety data.
- Participants / model
- Records reviewed, not a population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Search run on 10 October 2026
- Study design
- Dated literature and registry search
- Funding
- not stated in the source
An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished work exists.
Read the original sourceNaming warning: homeopathic R18 OVAGEN and a livestock gonadotrophin are not the peptide
Regulatory record
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics) label record. Set ID bf4f268b-f6bc-2485-e053-2a95a90aced4, version 2 published 2024-01-10.
A PubMed search for ovagen returned 34 records. By title, 24 concern livestock or rat reproduction, mostly superovulation with FSH in goats, sheep, and cattle, and one 1989 title (PMID 16031503) names Ovagen as a treatment given alongside Folltropin, so Ovagen is also a commercial gonadotrophin product; none of the 34 titles is a Khavinson peptide paper. A DailyMed label for R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics, label effective 2024-01-08) lists a homeopathic formula that includes adenosine triphosphate, agnus castus, and progesterone at homeopathic potencies, and says it is for temporary relief of minor menstrual discomfort, hot flashes, and melancholy. The label states that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. Neither product is the tripeptide.
- Participants / model
- Not a clinical population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Not applicable
- Study design
- Official label record for an unrelated homeopathic product, plus PubMed titles
- Funding
- not stated in the source
Naming warning only. These products are not the tripeptide and are not evidence about it.
Read the original sourceStudies and sources
PubChem: Glu-Asp-Leu identity
Chemical identity record
National Library of Medicine. PubChem compound record CID 444128.
A PubChem name search for Ovagen returned no record. The tripeptide Glu-Asp-Leu is CID 444128, C15H25N3O8, molecular weight 375.37, with no CAS number and no Ovagen synonym. The group's 2022 table of ultrashort peptides in the International Journal of Molecular Sciences lists Ovagen (EDL), and its 2021 systematic review in Molecules lists EDL, Ovagen. A 2014 abstract gives the group's laboratory code T-35 for EDL. The trade name is tied to the sequence by the group's tables, not by PubChem.
- Participants / model
- Chemical identity, not a clinical population
- Treatment
- Defined synthetic peptide
- Follow-up
- Not applicable
- Study design
- NLM chemical record
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The record defines the sequence only. The link from the name Ovagen to the sequence rests on the group's own tables.
Read the original sourceNaming warning: homeopathic R18 OVAGEN and a livestock gonadotrophin are not the peptide
Regulatory record
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine. R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics) label record. Set ID bf4f268b-f6bc-2485-e053-2a95a90aced4, version 2 published 2024-01-10.
A PubMed search for ovagen returned 34 records. By title, 24 concern livestock or rat reproduction, mostly superovulation with FSH in goats, sheep, and cattle, and one 1989 title (PMID 16031503) names Ovagen as a treatment given alongside Folltropin, so Ovagen is also a commercial gonadotrophin product; none of the 34 titles is a Khavinson peptide paper. A DailyMed label for R18 OVAGEN (Apex Energetics, label effective 2024-01-08) lists a homeopathic formula that includes adenosine triphosphate, agnus castus, and progesterone at homeopathic potencies, and says it is for temporary relief of minor menstrual discomfort, hot flashes, and melancholy. The label states that claims are based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence, and are not FDA evaluated. Neither product is the tripeptide.
- Participants / model
- Not a clinical population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Not applicable
- Study design
- Official label record for an unrelated homeopathic product, plus PubMed titles
- Funding
- not stated in the source
Naming warning only. These products are not the tripeptide and are not evidence about it.
Read the original source2017 rat kidney study: gentamycin nephropathy and ischemia-reperfusion injury
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2017;163(3):389-393. PMID 28744634.
The group's 2022 table labels Ovagen a nephroprotector and a hepatoprotector, citing a 2017 rat paper and a patent application, and the 2021 review lists its functions as regulation of renal cells, hepatoprotection, and DNA binding. Neither table lists a reproductive role for it. Under its sequence name the group reports a 2017 rat study in which EDL peptide had a nephroprotective effect in gentamycin-induced nephropathy and in ischemia and reperfusion kidney injury, preventing oliguria and retention azotemia, reducing proteinuria and sodium excretion, preventing a critical fall in antioxidant enzyme activity, suppressing lipid peroxidation, and normalizing kidney cell energy supply. The abstract gives no dose or route.
- Participants / model
- Rats with gentamycin nephropathy or kidney ischemia and reperfusion
- Treatment
- EDL peptide as dosed in the report; dose and route not stated in the abstract
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury models
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The kidney result is for the peptide under its sequence name. The group's hepatoprotector label rests on a patent application cited in the 2022 table, and no peer-reviewed liver paper for the peptide was found.
Read the original sourceRat cisplatin kidney failure, and kidney cell cultures with comparison peptides
Animal study
Zamorskii II et al. Bull Exp Biol Med. 2015;159(6):736-9. PMID 26515176.
In rats with cisplatin-induced acute renal failure, a kidney polypeptide complex and the peptides EDL and AEDG normalized diuresis and creatinine measures and reduced urinary protein, and the authors call EDL potent as a nephroprotector. In primary kidney cell cultures during aging (PMID 24958378), a calf kidney polypeptide complex and the peptide T-31 (AED) activated cell renewal markers, while the abstract says only that the gelatinase MMP-14 is the target of T-35 (EDL). A comparison peptide, not EDL, carried the cell renewal result.
- Participants / model
- Rats with cisplatin renal failure; primary kidney cell cultures
- Treatment
- Peptides as dosed in the reports; peptides in culture medium
- Follow-up
- not stated in the source
- Study design
- Preclinical kidney injury model and kidney cell culture
- Funding
- not stated in the source
The calf kidney polypeptide complex tested beside EDL is a calf kidney extract and a separate product from the tripeptide. Dose and route are not in the abstracts.
Read the original sourcePubMed: 24 records on ovary, women or fertility, none about the peptide
PubMed search record
PubMed searches run 10 October 2026: ovagen; (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive); ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson). ClinicalTrials.gov and openFDA Drugs@FDA queries, run the same day.
A PubMed search for (ovagen OR "Glu-Asp-Leu" OR "EDL peptide") AND (ovary OR ovarian OR women OR fertility OR menopause OR reproductive) returned 24 records. Every title was reviewed: 20 are livestock, goat, or rat reproduction papers, 2 are human testicular tissue and embryo cryopreservation methods papers, 1 is a letrozole approval summary, and 1 is an unrelated 1985 biochemistry paper. None concerns the tripeptide in the ovary or in women. A search for ovagen AND (clinical trial[pt] OR randomized controlled trial[pt]) AND (peptide OR Khavinson) returned 1 record, a beef cattle follicular aspiration paper. ClinicalTrials.gov returned no study for Ovagen. openFDA Drugs@FDA returned no match for Ovagen as brand or generic name. In the records reviewed there is no ovarian, uterine, or hormonal experiment with the peptide in any species, no human dose, no human pharmacokinetics, and no human safety data.
- Participants / model
- Records reviewed, not a population
- Treatment
- Not applicable
- Follow-up
- Search run on 10 October 2026
- Study design
- Dated literature and registry search
- Funding
- not stated in the source
An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished work exists.
Read the original sourceWhy is Ovagen in D tier?
D fits a compound whose published record, three studies in rats and kidney cells, concerns a different organ system from the one being sold. The group's own tables assign the peptide to kidney and liver, no study tested it in an ovary, a uterus or a woman, and two other products carry the name Ovagen.