RGPU-95

updated

RGPU-95 is a research code sold as para-chlorophenylpiracetam for stimulant-like cognitive effects. PubChem has no record under the code, and its link to that structure rests on secondary pages, not a primary source. The single PubMed paper is a 2010 Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior with no structure, dose or numbers.

Research code, sold as a chlorinated analog of phenylpiracetam

  • PubChem has no record under RGPU-95 or RGPU95; the structure vendors call para-chlorophenylpiracetam is CID 10824736, C12H13ClN2O2, molecular weight 252.69, found by chemical name and not by the code.
  • The link between the code and that structure rests on English Wikipedia and a Russian alert service; no primary paper, patent or regulator record states it.
  • PubMed holds one paper on RGPU-95, a 2010 Russian abstract on anxiety and depression behavior in male and female rats, with no structure, dose, route, test names or numbers.
  • The RGPU prefix labels a series: 16 of 20 PubMed records for RGPU concern glutamic acid and GABA derivatives, not RGPU-95.
  • No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics or toxicity.

What is RGPU-95, and what is its regulatory status?

RGPU-95 is a research code sold as para-chlorophenylpiracetam. PubChem has no record under the code, and the link from the code to that structure rests on secondary pages, not a primary source. No US approval, label or scheduling record names it.

PubChem name lookups for RGPU-95 and RGPU95 returned no match, and so did 4-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam. The structure that vendors and secondary sources call para-chlorophenylpiracetam is PubChem CID 10824736, 2-[4-(4-chlorophenyl)-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl]acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, molecular weight 252.69, CAS 213178-69-9 (a CAS-format synonym), found by its chemical name and not by the code.

The record has no stereochemical descriptors, while phenylpiracetam has a chiral center at the ring carbon that carries the aryl group, and no source read says whether sold material is racemic or one enantiomer. The structure differs from phenylpiracetam (CID 132441, C12H14N2O2, molecular weight 218.25) by a chlorine on the para position of the phenyl ring. Phenylpiracetam has its own page on this site and is a separate compound.

The WADA 2026 Prohibited List names Fonturacetam [4-phenylpiracetam (carphedon)] in S6.A, prohibited in-competition; it does not name RGPU-95 or any chlorophenylpiracetam. Section S0 prohibits at all times any pharmacological substance not addressed elsewhere and with no current approval for human therapeutic use, but no source reviewed says WADA has applied it to this compound. On 10 October 2026 openFDA Drugs@FDA queries by substance, generic and brand name for RGPU-95 returned no match, DailyMed returned 0 labels, 21 CFR Part 1308 (eCFR version of 6 October 2026) does not name it, and FDA's Health Fraud Product Database (2,213 entries, current as of 5 October 2026) has no entry naming RGPU or any piracetam. No approval, scheduling or enforcement record was found.

PubChem record found by chemical name, not by the code RGPU-95

Chemical identity record

PubChem, National Library of Medicine. Compound summary for CID 10824736; phenylpiracetam is CID 132441. PubChem has no record under the code RGPU-95.

PubChem has no record under the code: name lookups for RGPU-95 and RGPU95 returned no match, and so did 4-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam. The structure that vendors and secondary sources call para-chlorophenylpiracetam is PubChem CID 10824736, 2-[4-(4-chlorophenyl)-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl]acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, molecular weight 252.69, CAS 213178-69-9 (a CAS-format synonym), found by its chemical name and not by the code. The record has no stereochemical descriptors, while phenylpiracetam has a chiral center at the ring carbon that carries the aryl group, and no source read says whether sold material is racemic or one enantiomer. It differs from phenylpiracetam (CID 132441, C12H14N2O2, molecular weight 218.25) by a chlorine on the para position of the phenyl ring.

Participants / model
Chemical identity, not a clinical population
Treatment
Defined molecule per its chemical name
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Chemical database record
Funding
not stated in the source

This record confirms the structure named in secondary sources. It does not connect that structure to the code RGPU-95, which rests on secondary pages.

Read the original source
WADA 2026 list names fonturacetam, not RGPU-95; no US approval or label record

Regulatory record

World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, in effect from 1 January 2026. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: openFDA Drugs@FDA, DailyMed and the Health Fraud Product Database. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, 21 CFR Part 1308, version of 6 October 2026. Searches run on 10 October 2026.

The WADA 2026 Prohibited List names Fonturacetam [4-phenylpiracetam (carphedon)] in S6.A, prohibited in-competition; it does not name RGPU-95 or any chlorophenylpiracetam. S0 prohibits at all times any pharmacological substance not addressed elsewhere and with no current approval for human therapeutic use, but no source reviewed says WADA has applied it to this compound. openFDA Drugs@FDA queries by substance, generic and brand name for RGPU-95 returned no match on 10 October 2026, DailyMed returned 0 labels, 21 CFR Part 1308 (eCFR version of 6 October 2026) does not name it, and FDA's Health Fraud Product Database (2,213 entries, current as of 5 October 2026) has no entry naming RGPU or any piracetam. No approval, scheduling or enforcement record was found.

Participants / model
Athletes under the World Anti-Doping Code; US regulatory databases
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
2026 List in effect from 1 January 2026; searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Official anti-doping list and regulator databases
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence in the records searched, not a legal-status finding for any country.

Read the original source

Is RGPU-95 really para-chlorophenylpiracetam?

Not settled by a primary source. English Wikipedia and a Russian alert service equate the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam, and the one PubMed abstract on RGPU-95 gives no structure, so this page says sold as, not is.

English Wikipedia's RGPU-95 page equates the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam and cites an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper described below. The page is a stub, and its potency statement (5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals) was not traced to a primary source.

The AIPSIN entry, from a Russian alert service for new psychoactive substances (alert dated 17 April 2020 on the page), is titled p-Chlorophenylpiracetam (RGPU-95, p-Cl-Phenylpiracetam) and gives the name 2-(2-Oxo-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-pyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, mass 252.7. It states that human effects have not been well studied, and it cites a 2013 forced-swim paper (Zhdanova, Tyurenkov, Rogova) and the 2010 paper. Its dose and timing figures come from forums and are not used here. No primary paper, patent or regulator record stating the structure behind the RGPU-95 code was found.

The 2010 abstract does not name the structure, so the chlorinated structure is not attributed to the paper. The RGPU prefix also labels a series: a PubMed search for RGPU returned 20 records on 10 October 2026, of which 1 is the RGPU-95 paper, 3 are unrelated and 16 concern glutamic acid and GABA derivatives from the same Russian pharmacology literature, among them RGPU-135 (beta-phenylglutamic acid hydrochloride, also called glutaron or glutarone), RGPU-207 (a cyclic GABA derivative) and RGPU-260 (a GABA derivative). Other RGPU papers are not RGPU-95 data.

Secondary pages tie the code to p-chlorophenylpiracetam; no primary source found

Chemical identity record

English Wikipedia, RGPU-95 (a stub page), citing an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper by Tiurenkov and colleagues. AIPSIN is a Russian alert service for new psychoactive substances; the item is dated 17 April 2020 on the page.

English Wikipedia's RGPU-95 page equates the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam and cites an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper described on this page. The page is a stub, and its potency statement (5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals) was not traced to a primary source. The AIPSIN entry is titled p-Chlorophenylpiracetam (RGPU-95, p-Cl-Phenylpiracetam) and gives the name 2-(2-Oxo-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-pyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, mass 252.7. It states that human effects have not been well studied, takes its dose and timing figures from forums, and cites a 2013 forced-swim paper (Zhdanova, Tyurenkov, Rogova) and the 2010 paper. No primary paper, patent or regulator record stating the structure behind the RGPU-95 code was found.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Secondary and alert-service pages, not a primary source
Funding
not stated in the source

The link between the code and the chlorinated structure rests on these pages. The potency statement and the forum-derived dose and timing figures have no traced primary source and are not used on this page.

Read the original source
The one PubMed paper on RGPU-95: Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior, no structure or numbers

Animal study

Tiurenkov IN et al. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(11):10-4. PMID 21254591.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010;73(11):10 to 14, in Russian, titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals. The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil (a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam) but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

Participants / model
Male and female rats
Treatment
not stated in the source
Follow-up
not stated in the source
Study design
Original preclinical study, abstract only
Funding
not stated in the source

An anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed. The abstract does not name the chlorinated structure, so that structure is not attributed to the paper.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 20 RGPU records, 1 on RGPU-95 and 16 on other glutamic acid and GABA derivatives

PubMed search record

PubMed search run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU.

A PubMed search for RGPU returned 20 records. One is the RGPU-95 paper and 3 are unrelated (a graphene oxide sponge, thorium reactor fuel and a pediatric gastric pull-up paper). The other 16 concern glutamic acid and GABA derivatives from the same Russian pharmacology literature, among them RGPU-135 (beta-phenylglutamic acid hydrochloride, also called glutaron or glutarone), RGPU-207 (a cyclic GABA derivative) and RGPU-260 (a GABA derivative). Only the 2010 paper concerns RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Rats, mice, snail neurons and other models, in unrelated compounds
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Search run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature search
Funding
not stated in the source

The RGPU prefix labels a series, so other RGPU papers are not RGPU-95 data.

Read the original source

What did the one rat study report?

A 2010 Russian abstract reports that RGPU-95 and Fenotropil reduced anxious and depressive behavior in rats, more in males than in females, and that RGPU-95 exceeded Fenotropil for anxiolytic expression and was inferior to diazepam. It gives no structure, dose, route, test names or numbers, and it is not a cognition or stimulant study.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010, volume 73, issue 11, pages 10 to 14, in Russian, is titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals.

The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil, a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam, but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers. It is an anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed.

A PubMed search on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the paper above. Searches for chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

The one PubMed paper on RGPU-95: Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior, no structure or numbers

Animal study

Tiurenkov IN et al. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(11):10-4. PMID 21254591.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010;73(11):10 to 14, in Russian, titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals. The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil (a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam) but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

Participants / model
Male and female rats
Treatment
not stated in the source
Follow-up
not stated in the source
Study design
Original preclinical study, abstract only
Funding
not stated in the source

An anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed. The abstract does not name the chlorinated structure, so that structure is not attributed to the paper.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 1 record for RGPU-95, 0 for chlorophenylpiracetam names

PubMed search record

PubMed searches run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95, chlorophenylpiracetam name variants, the 2013 authors and phenylpiracetam names with halogen and behavior terms, with ClinicalTrials.gov searches.

The term RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the 2010 paper. The names chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Records reviewed, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature and registry search
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished or unindexed work exists. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

Read the original source

Does RGPU-95 give stimulant-like cognitive effects?

No source supports that. The vendor is right in substance that the single PubMed paper never says which compound it tested, but that paper measures anxiety and depression behavior in rats, not cognition or stimulant effects.

A vendor sells RGPU-95 as para-chlorophenylpiracetam for stimulant-like cognitive effects and says PubMed holds one paper on it that never says which compound it tested. The description of the paper is accurate in substance: the abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

The stimulant-like cognition claim has no source. The paper measures anxiety and depression behavior in rats, and no indexed record reports a stimulant or cognitive endpoint for RGPU-95. Dose and timing figures on secondary pages come from forums and are not sourced here, and the 5 to 10 times potency statement was not traced to a primary source.

The one PubMed paper on RGPU-95: Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior, no structure or numbers

Animal study

Tiurenkov IN et al. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(11):10-4. PMID 21254591.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010;73(11):10 to 14, in Russian, titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals. The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil (a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam) but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

Participants / model
Male and female rats
Treatment
not stated in the source
Follow-up
not stated in the source
Study design
Original preclinical study, abstract only
Funding
not stated in the source

An anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed. The abstract does not name the chlorinated structure, so that structure is not attributed to the paper.

Read the original source
Secondary pages tie the code to p-chlorophenylpiracetam; no primary source found

Chemical identity record

English Wikipedia, RGPU-95 (a stub page), citing an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper by Tiurenkov and colleagues. AIPSIN is a Russian alert service for new psychoactive substances; the item is dated 17 April 2020 on the page.

English Wikipedia's RGPU-95 page equates the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam and cites an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper described on this page. The page is a stub, and its potency statement (5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals) was not traced to a primary source. The AIPSIN entry is titled p-Chlorophenylpiracetam (RGPU-95, p-Cl-Phenylpiracetam) and gives the name 2-(2-Oxo-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-pyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, mass 252.7. It states that human effects have not been well studied, takes its dose and timing figures from forums, and cites a 2013 forced-swim paper (Zhdanova, Tyurenkov, Rogova) and the 2010 paper. No primary paper, patent or regulator record stating the structure behind the RGPU-95 code was found.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Secondary and alert-service pages, not a primary source
Funding
not stated in the source

The link between the code and the chlorinated structure rests on these pages. The potency statement and the forum-derived dose and timing figures have no traced primary source and are not used on this page.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 1 record for RGPU-95, 0 for chlorophenylpiracetam names

PubMed search record

PubMed searches run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95, chlorophenylpiracetam name variants, the 2013 authors and phenylpiracetam names with halogen and behavior terms, with ClinicalTrials.gov searches.

The term RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the 2010 paper. The names chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Records reviewed, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature and registry search
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished or unindexed work exists. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

Read the original source

How does RGPU-95 act?

Unknown. The one abstract describes behavior in rats and gives no receptor, transporter or enzyme data. It calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil, and phenylpiracetam's own pharmacology is not reused here.

No receptor, transporter or enzyme result is reported for RGPU-95 in any record reviewed. The 2010 abstract describes anxious and depressive behavior in male and female rats and calls the compound an analog of Fenotropil, with no dose, route or test names, so it says nothing about how the compound acts.

Phenylpiracetam's own pharmacology belongs to the parent page and is not applied to RGPU-95, because the code reaches the chlorinated structure only through secondary pages.

The one PubMed paper on RGPU-95: Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior, no structure or numbers

Animal study

Tiurenkov IN et al. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(11):10-4. PMID 21254591.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010;73(11):10 to 14, in Russian, titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals. The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil (a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam) but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

Participants / model
Male and female rats
Treatment
not stated in the source
Follow-up
not stated in the source
Study design
Original preclinical study, abstract only
Funding
not stated in the source

An anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed. The abstract does not name the chlorinated structure, so that structure is not attributed to the paper.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 1 record for RGPU-95, 0 for chlorophenylpiracetam names

PubMed search record

PubMed searches run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95, chlorophenylpiracetam name variants, the 2013 authors and phenylpiracetam names with halogen and behavior terms, with ClinicalTrials.gov searches.

The term RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the 2010 paper. The names chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Records reviewed, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature and registry search
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished or unindexed work exists. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

Read the original source

What is known about the safety of RGPU-95?

Nothing is established. No human, pharmacokinetic or toxicity data exist, the structure behind the code rests on secondary pages, and a source that was not traced calls it several times more potent than its parent in animals, so the unknowns are real.

No indexed record reports human exposure, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or a safety finding for RGPU-95. The abstract gives no dose, so even the rat result cannot be tied to an exposure.

The potency statement is the main reason the unknowns matter: English Wikipedia says 5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals, and that statement was not traced to a primary source. A compound described as several times more potent than its parent, with no toxicity data, leaves the exposure and harm questions open.

Product identity is a further unknown. The code reaches the chlorinated structure only through secondary pages, and no source says whether sold material is racemic or one enantiomer, so what a product labeled RGPU-95 contains is not established by the records reviewed.

For athletes, the WADA 2026 list names the parent, phenylpiracetam, and does not name RGPU-95 or any chlorophenylpiracetam. No source reviewed says WADA has applied its general category for unapproved substances to it.

PubMed, 10 October 2026: 1 record for RGPU-95, 0 for chlorophenylpiracetam names

PubMed search record

PubMed searches run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95, chlorophenylpiracetam name variants, the 2013 authors and phenylpiracetam names with halogen and behavior terms, with ClinicalTrials.gov searches.

The term RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the 2010 paper. The names chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Records reviewed, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature and registry search
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished or unindexed work exists. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

Read the original source
Secondary pages tie the code to p-chlorophenylpiracetam; no primary source found

Chemical identity record

English Wikipedia, RGPU-95 (a stub page), citing an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper by Tiurenkov and colleagues. AIPSIN is a Russian alert service for new psychoactive substances; the item is dated 17 April 2020 on the page.

English Wikipedia's RGPU-95 page equates the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam and cites an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper described on this page. The page is a stub, and its potency statement (5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals) was not traced to a primary source. The AIPSIN entry is titled p-Chlorophenylpiracetam (RGPU-95, p-Cl-Phenylpiracetam) and gives the name 2-(2-Oxo-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-pyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, mass 252.7. It states that human effects have not been well studied, takes its dose and timing figures from forums, and cites a 2013 forced-swim paper (Zhdanova, Tyurenkov, Rogova) and the 2010 paper. No primary paper, patent or regulator record stating the structure behind the RGPU-95 code was found.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Secondary and alert-service pages, not a primary source
Funding
not stated in the source

The link between the code and the chlorinated structure rests on these pages. The potency statement and the forum-derived dose and timing figures have no traced primary source and are not used on this page.

Read the original source
PubChem record found by chemical name, not by the code RGPU-95

Chemical identity record

PubChem, National Library of Medicine. Compound summary for CID 10824736; phenylpiracetam is CID 132441. PubChem has no record under the code RGPU-95.

PubChem has no record under the code: name lookups for RGPU-95 and RGPU95 returned no match, and so did 4-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam. The structure that vendors and secondary sources call para-chlorophenylpiracetam is PubChem CID 10824736, 2-[4-(4-chlorophenyl)-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl]acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, molecular weight 252.69, CAS 213178-69-9 (a CAS-format synonym), found by its chemical name and not by the code. The record has no stereochemical descriptors, while phenylpiracetam has a chiral center at the ring carbon that carries the aryl group, and no source read says whether sold material is racemic or one enantiomer. It differs from phenylpiracetam (CID 132441, C12H14N2O2, molecular weight 218.25) by a chlorine on the para position of the phenyl ring.

Participants / model
Chemical identity, not a clinical population
Treatment
Defined molecule per its chemical name
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Chemical database record
Funding
not stated in the source

This record confirms the structure named in secondary sources. It does not connect that structure to the code RGPU-95, which rests on secondary pages.

Read the original source
WADA 2026 list names fonturacetam, not RGPU-95; no US approval or label record

Regulatory record

World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, in effect from 1 January 2026. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: openFDA Drugs@FDA, DailyMed and the Health Fraud Product Database. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, 21 CFR Part 1308, version of 6 October 2026. Searches run on 10 October 2026.

The WADA 2026 Prohibited List names Fonturacetam [4-phenylpiracetam (carphedon)] in S6.A, prohibited in-competition; it does not name RGPU-95 or any chlorophenylpiracetam. S0 prohibits at all times any pharmacological substance not addressed elsewhere and with no current approval for human therapeutic use, but no source reviewed says WADA has applied it to this compound. openFDA Drugs@FDA queries by substance, generic and brand name for RGPU-95 returned no match on 10 October 2026, DailyMed returned 0 labels, 21 CFR Part 1308 (eCFR version of 6 October 2026) does not name it, and FDA's Health Fraud Product Database (2,213 entries, current as of 5 October 2026) has no entry naming RGPU or any piracetam. No approval, scheduling or enforcement record was found.

Participants / model
Athletes under the World Anti-Doping Code; US regulatory databases
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
2026 List in effect from 1 January 2026; searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Official anti-doping list and regulator databases
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence in the records searched, not a legal-status finding for any country.

Read the original source

Why does RGPU-95 sit in F tier?

The record is a single rat anxiety and depression abstract with no structure, dose or numbers, no human or toxicity data, and a code-to-structure link that rests on secondary pages.

The only primary record is a 2010 rat abstract with no structure, dose or numbers. No human, toxicity or pharmacokinetic data exist, and the code reaches the chlorinated structure only through secondary pages. An abstract with no numbers does not amount to substantive animal data.

The safety unknowns are real for a molecule that a secondary page describes as many times more potent than its parent in animals, with that statement untraced. That is F for a compound with no human data and open safety questions.

The one PubMed paper on RGPU-95: Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior, no structure or numbers

Animal study

Tiurenkov IN et al. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(11):10-4. PMID 21254591.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010;73(11):10 to 14, in Russian, titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals. The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil (a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam) but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

Participants / model
Male and female rats
Treatment
not stated in the source
Follow-up
not stated in the source
Study design
Original preclinical study, abstract only
Funding
not stated in the source

An anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed. The abstract does not name the chlorinated structure, so that structure is not attributed to the paper.

Read the original source
Secondary pages tie the code to p-chlorophenylpiracetam; no primary source found

Chemical identity record

English Wikipedia, RGPU-95 (a stub page), citing an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper by Tiurenkov and colleagues. AIPSIN is a Russian alert service for new psychoactive substances; the item is dated 17 April 2020 on the page.

English Wikipedia's RGPU-95 page equates the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam and cites an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper described on this page. The page is a stub, and its potency statement (5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals) was not traced to a primary source. The AIPSIN entry is titled p-Chlorophenylpiracetam (RGPU-95, p-Cl-Phenylpiracetam) and gives the name 2-(2-Oxo-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-pyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, mass 252.7. It states that human effects have not been well studied, takes its dose and timing figures from forums, and cites a 2013 forced-swim paper (Zhdanova, Tyurenkov, Rogova) and the 2010 paper. No primary paper, patent or regulator record stating the structure behind the RGPU-95 code was found.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Secondary and alert-service pages, not a primary source
Funding
not stated in the source

The link between the code and the chlorinated structure rests on these pages. The potency statement and the forum-derived dose and timing figures have no traced primary source and are not used on this page.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 1 record for RGPU-95, 0 for chlorophenylpiracetam names

PubMed search record

PubMed searches run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95, chlorophenylpiracetam name variants, the 2013 authors and phenylpiracetam names with halogen and behavior terms, with ClinicalTrials.gov searches.

The term RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the 2010 paper. The names chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Records reviewed, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature and registry search
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished or unindexed work exists. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

Read the original source

Studies and sources

PubChem record found by chemical name, not by the code RGPU-95

Chemical identity record

PubChem, National Library of Medicine. Compound summary for CID 10824736; phenylpiracetam is CID 132441. PubChem has no record under the code RGPU-95.

PubChem has no record under the code: name lookups for RGPU-95 and RGPU95 returned no match, and so did 4-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam. The structure that vendors and secondary sources call para-chlorophenylpiracetam is PubChem CID 10824736, 2-[4-(4-chlorophenyl)-2-oxopyrrolidin-1-yl]acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, molecular weight 252.69, CAS 213178-69-9 (a CAS-format synonym), found by its chemical name and not by the code. The record has no stereochemical descriptors, while phenylpiracetam has a chiral center at the ring carbon that carries the aryl group, and no source read says whether sold material is racemic or one enantiomer. It differs from phenylpiracetam (CID 132441, C12H14N2O2, molecular weight 218.25) by a chlorine on the para position of the phenyl ring.

Participants / model
Chemical identity, not a clinical population
Treatment
Defined molecule per its chemical name
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Chemical database record
Funding
not stated in the source

This record confirms the structure named in secondary sources. It does not connect that structure to the code RGPU-95, which rests on secondary pages.

Read the original source
Secondary pages tie the code to p-chlorophenylpiracetam; no primary source found

Chemical identity record

English Wikipedia, RGPU-95 (a stub page), citing an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper by Tiurenkov and colleagues. AIPSIN is a Russian alert service for new psychoactive substances; the item is dated 17 April 2020 on the page.

English Wikipedia's RGPU-95 page equates the code with p-chlorophenylpiracetam and cites an AIPSIN item, a 2020 paper on trends in psychoactive substance identification, and the 2010 paper described on this page. The page is a stub, and its potency statement (5 to 10 times phenylpiracetam in animals) was not traced to a primary source. The AIPSIN entry is titled p-Chlorophenylpiracetam (RGPU-95, p-Cl-Phenylpiracetam) and gives the name 2-(2-Oxo-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-pyrrolidin-1-yl)acetamide, C12H13ClN2O2, mass 252.7. It states that human effects have not been well studied, takes its dose and timing figures from forums, and cites a 2013 forced-swim paper (Zhdanova, Tyurenkov, Rogova) and the 2010 paper. No primary paper, patent or regulator record stating the structure behind the RGPU-95 code was found.

Participants / model
Not a clinical population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Not applicable
Study design
Secondary and alert-service pages, not a primary source
Funding
not stated in the source

The link between the code and the chlorinated structure rests on these pages. The potency statement and the forum-derived dose and timing figures have no traced primary source and are not used on this page.

Read the original source
The one PubMed paper on RGPU-95: Russian rat abstract on anxiety and depression behavior, no structure or numbers

Animal study

Tiurenkov IN et al. Eksp Klin Farmakol. 2010;73(11):10-4. PMID 21254591.

Tiurenkov and colleagues, Eksperimentalnaia i Klinicheskaia Farmakologiia 2010;73(11):10 to 14, in Russian, titled for gender differences in the action of Fenotropil and its analog, compound RGPU-95, on anxiety-depressive behavior in animals. The abstract reports that Fenotropil and RGPU-95 reduce the severity of anxious and depressive behavior more in male rats than in females. For anxiolytic expression RGPU-95 significantly exceeds Fenotropil but is inferior to diazepam, and its antidepressant activity is comparable to Melipramin and exceeds Fenotropil. The abstract calls RGPU-95 an analog of Fenotropil (a transliteration of the Russian product name of phenylpiracetam) but gives no chemical name, structure, chlorine, dose, route, test names or numbers.

Participants / model
Male and female rats
Treatment
not stated in the source
Follow-up
not stated in the source
Study design
Original preclinical study, abstract only
Funding
not stated in the source

An anxiety and depression model in rats, not a cognition or stimulant study. Only the abstract was reviewed. The abstract does not name the chlorinated structure, so that structure is not attributed to the paper.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 20 RGPU records, 1 on RGPU-95 and 16 on other glutamic acid and GABA derivatives

PubMed search record

PubMed search run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU.

A PubMed search for RGPU returned 20 records. One is the RGPU-95 paper and 3 are unrelated (a graphene oxide sponge, thorium reactor fuel and a pediatric gastric pull-up paper). The other 16 concern glutamic acid and GABA derivatives from the same Russian pharmacology literature, among them RGPU-135 (beta-phenylglutamic acid hydrochloride, also called glutaron or glutarone), RGPU-207 (a cyclic GABA derivative) and RGPU-260 (a GABA derivative). Only the 2010 paper concerns RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Rats, mice, snail neurons and other models, in unrelated compounds
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Search run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature search
Funding
not stated in the source

The RGPU prefix labels a series, so other RGPU papers are not RGPU-95 data.

Read the original source
WADA 2026 list names fonturacetam, not RGPU-95; no US approval or label record

Regulatory record

World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, in effect from 1 January 2026. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: openFDA Drugs@FDA, DailyMed and the Health Fraud Product Database. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations, 21 CFR Part 1308, version of 6 October 2026. Searches run on 10 October 2026.

The WADA 2026 Prohibited List names Fonturacetam [4-phenylpiracetam (carphedon)] in S6.A, prohibited in-competition; it does not name RGPU-95 or any chlorophenylpiracetam. S0 prohibits at all times any pharmacological substance not addressed elsewhere and with no current approval for human therapeutic use, but no source reviewed says WADA has applied it to this compound. openFDA Drugs@FDA queries by substance, generic and brand name for RGPU-95 returned no match on 10 October 2026, DailyMed returned 0 labels, 21 CFR Part 1308 (eCFR version of 6 October 2026) does not name it, and FDA's Health Fraud Product Database (2,213 entries, current as of 5 October 2026) has no entry naming RGPU or any piracetam. No approval, scheduling or enforcement record was found.

Participants / model
Athletes under the World Anti-Doping Code; US regulatory databases
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
2026 List in effect from 1 January 2026; searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Official anti-doping list and regulator databases
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence in the records searched, not a legal-status finding for any country.

Read the original source
PubMed, 10 October 2026: 1 record for RGPU-95, 0 for chlorophenylpiracetam names

PubMed search record

PubMed searches run on 10 October 2026 for RGPU-95, chlorophenylpiracetam name variants, the 2013 authors and phenylpiracetam names with halogen and behavior terms, with ClinicalTrials.gov searches.

The term RGPU-95 returned 1 record, the 2010 paper. The names chlorophenylpiracetam, 4-chlorophenylpiracetam, p-chlorophenylpiracetam and para-chlorophenylpiracetam returned 0. Zhdanova and Tyurenkov together returned 0, so the 2013 forced-swim paper that AIPSIN cites is not indexed under those authors. A search for phenylpiracetam, phenotropil, fenotropil, 4-phenylpyrrolidone or 4-phenylpyrrolidin-2-one together with chlorophenyl, chlorine or halogen terms and with forced swim, antidepressant or anxiolytic terms returned 0. ClinicalTrials.gov returned 0 studies for RGPU-95 and for the chlorophenylpiracetam structure name. No indexed record reports human data, a stimulant or cognitive endpoint, pharmacokinetics, toxicity or the structure of RGPU-95.

Participants / model
Records reviewed, not a population
Treatment
Not applicable
Follow-up
Searches run on 10 October 2026
Study design
Dated literature and registry search
Funding
not stated in the source

An absence finding as of 10 October 2026, not proof that no unpublished or unindexed work exists. Russian-language journals not indexed in PubMed and patent literature were not searched.

Read the original source

Why is RGPU-95 in F tier?

F fits a single rat anxiety and depression abstract with no structure, dose or numbers, no human or toxicity data, and a code that reaches the chlorinated structure only through secondary pages. The safety unknowns are real for a molecule that a secondary page describes as many times more potent than its parent in animals.